Danish Cheese Pockets {Bake!}

For a recent Twitterbake, my friend Margaret chose Danish Cheese Pockets from Bake!, Nick Malgieri’s recent book. The recipe calls for a half recipe of Quick Danish Pastry Dough. Rather than making a half recipe or freezing some of the dough, I decided to make two recipes — one of cheese pockets and another with cherry filling made from homemade cherry jam a friend of mine gave me.

After making the pastry dough, I  mixed up the cream cheese filling.

Isn't the sugar-coated egg yolk cool?

 

I rolled out the dough, cut it into squares, topped it with filling, and shaped the Danish.

I did the same with the cherry Danish, making some just cherry and some cheese and cherry.

After shaping the Danish, I preheated the oven. While the oven was heating, I brushed the tops of the Danish with egg wash and sprinkled them with sliced almonds.

I baked the pastries at 400°F for about 20 minutes, until they were puffed and golden.

Even though most of the Danish came apart on top, they were still delicious. The cream cheese ones were as good as any cheese Danish I’ve ever tasted.

And the cherry and cherry-cheese ones were even better.

I had planned to take most of the Danish to work, but by the time Monday rolled around, there weren’t very many left. The Danish I did take to the office disappeared with lightning speed. One person asked me for the recipe. The rest asked me to make more Danish and bring them in.

12 Comments

  1. Ruby in FL said,

    January 7, 2012 at 3:31 am

    Nick Malgieri said,
    March 5, 2011 at 11:03 pm
    Next time FedEx me a couple, OK?

    Dear BakerMan,
    Do you take REQUESTS ????
    My local grocery chain makes an outrageous Orange Muffin.
    I would be happy to FEDEX them to you !
    Ruby in FL
    ruby@danebytes.com

    p.s. I dread retiring to Italy without being able to make these.

  2. October 6, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    […] week’s Modern Baker Mondays recipe is a version of Danish cheese pockets. I recently made the classic version from Bake!, and I was interested to see how these would compare. The Modern Baker version uses puff […]

  3. Kayte said,

    March 9, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    We were discussing on twitter what I should give up for Lent and top among many suggestions was mine for sweets…now that I see these, I think I might have to go with one of the other choices at hand. You did a terrific job on these, they look just beautiful.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 9, 2011 at 7:07 pm

      Thanks. Maybe you should give up curried fish pie for Lent!

  4. ap269 said,

    March 8, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Especially the cherry cheese ones look wonderful! I will try this version next time. I love, love, love homemade cherry jam!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 8, 2011 at 5:15 pm

      Thanks. They cherry jam was from a friend of mine, and it was perfect for these Danish.

  5. March 6, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Wow! I really need that book! These look great. Sorry you’re still having cold weather but you’ll be feeling sorry for me by July!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 6, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      It’s a great book. So many good recipes. We’ll get Spring weather eventually. Might be June, but we’ll get it.

  6. luciacara said,

    March 6, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Wow – those look WONDERFUL! I love cherries. I’ve used Nick’s book “How to Bake” for many years but have never made any pastries from it. There is a recipe in it for Danish Cheese Pockets – your beautiful photo makes me want to try it now!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 6, 2011 at 12:26 pm

      I have been baking from two of Nick’s books recently — “The Modern Baker” and “Bake!” — and have loved almost every single recipe. “Bake!” is very instructional, too, with a lot of techniques and tips for better baking.

  7. March 5, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Next time FedEx me a couple, OK?

    • gaaarp said,

      March 5, 2011 at 11:16 pm

      They didn’t last long enough! These were so good. Thanks for a great recipe!


Leave a Reply

