No-roll Flaky Pastry Dough {ModBak}

One of the reasons I decided to undertake the Modern Baker Challenge was to improve my pastry dough making skills. Before I started working my way through Nick Malgieri‘s book, I never made my own crusts. If I was baking a pie or quiche, I bought a pre-made crust. In fact, I kept several crusts in my freezer at all times.

Having baked out of Nick’s book for a year now, I no longer shy away from recipes that call for homemade pastry crust. In fact, although my pastry skills still aren’t perfect, I have a lot more successes than failures.

Because of my recent successes with rolling my own pastry dough, I’ve only used Nick’s no-roll recipe one time (unlike Andrea, who uses it every chance she gets). But I can attest that it is an easy and nearly foolproof way of making a pastry crust.

You start by mixing the dry ingredients in the food processor, then adding water and pulsing until the mixture resembles crumb topping. Then you dump the pastry into a pan and press it in place.

And that’s all there is to it. This dough isn’t quite as tender and flaky as Nick’s rich pastry dough, but it’s better than most pastry doughs I’ve had, and I wouldn’t hesitate to use it for a pie or tart.

If you’ve long feared rolling your own pastry dough, give this one a try. You’ll be surprised as how easy and delicious making your own dough can be.

5 Comments

  1. April 4, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    […] and Pies section of The Modern Baker, Nick Malgieri gives three crust recipes: Olive Oil Dough, No-Roll Flaky Dough, and Rich Pie Dough. Of the three, I found the rich dough to be my favorite, both in taste and […]

  2. Kayte said,

    March 24, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    The thing I don’t like about no-rolls is that I can never tell if they are even, it seems like such a simple thing to be able to tell that, but for me it just isn’t…maybe I am lacking proper depth perception. Yours looks lovely, I will say that for sure!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 24, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      You could take a ruler or something else with a straight edge, place it in the center of the crust and turn it around. You could tell if it was really uneven that way. To be honest, though, as long as the whole pan is covered, I’m not sure it matters that much.

  3. ap269 said,

    March 23, 2011 at 3:21 am

    Yes, I agree, this is the easiest tart/pie dough ever!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 24, 2011 at 6:55 pm

      I’ve only used it once. I need to try it again. It was so easy and tasted great.


Leave a Reply

