Ligurian Savoy Cabbage Pie {ModBak}

Flush from my success with curried fish pie, it was time for the next Modern Baker Challenge recipe — cabbage pie. The Savoy cabbage for this recipe had been in the refrigerator for a few weeks, so I knew I had to make it soon. I decided to change this one up just a bit. Rather than making a typical double-crust pie, I thought I’d use my new Celtic baker from King Arthur Flour and make it more like a pot pie.

After blanching and shredding the cabbage, I sautéed onion and garlic in olive oil, then added the cabbage and cooked it down.  I scraped the vegetables into a bowl and seasoned them with salt and pepper. I stirred in ricotta, parsley, eggs, and Parmigiano-Reggiano, then poured the mixture into the casserole dish.

I topped the pie with rolled out pieces of crust, then baked it at 375°F for about 30 minutes. The filling set up nicely and the crust was lightly browned and flaky.

Although this dish would make a nice appetizer or light dinner, I served it as part of our St. Patrick’s Day meal, alongside corned beef, mashed redskin potatoes, and Irish brown bread. The cabbage pie was well-seasoned and made a nice accompaniment to the rest of the meal.

I’m not sure I’ll make this dish again, but we did enjoy it as a change from our normal steamed cabbage or Colocannon.

5 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    April 3, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Did you use the olive oil crust? I had a lot of trouble handling it, but it did bake up nicely (if not prettily). And the fact that yours was sitting in the fridge for several weeks–is it bad to admit that I think that’s one of the things I love about cabbage, it keeps so well!?

    • gaaarp said,

      April 3, 2011 at 10:22 pm

      I think I used the olive oil crust for this one. I used it twice, and found it pretty easy to work with. It was better chilled a bit.

      I, too, tend to favor things that keep well for a while in the fridge. I made the zucchini pie today, and just in time, as the zucchini were starting to get a bit soft.

  2. Kayte said,

    April 2, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Great idea to serve for St. Pat’s day dinner. I keep wavering on this one, have bought cabbage twice and used it for other things, so maybe that’s a sign that it was not meant to be. You make it look tempting, and I do have all the ingredients. Maybe a small one. Gives me an excuse to use my new 6″ pan again.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 2, 2011 at 10:54 pm

      You and that 6-inch pan. Mark is going to start getting jealous!

  3. Renee said,

    March 29, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I like cabbage but for some reason I just couldn’t get my head around cabbage pie. It just doesn’t sound very appetizing. Glad it turned out okay.


Leave a Reply

