Rich Pie Dough for Savory Pies & Tarts {ModBak}

In the Savory Tarts and Pies section of The Modern Baker, Nick Malgieri gives three crust recipes: Olive Oil Dough, No-Roll Flaky Dough, and Rich Pie Dough. Of the three, I found the rich dough to be my favorite, both in taste and texture. And after making it a few times, I found rolling it out to be easy, too.

The dough is mixed in the food processor and consists of flour, salt, baking powder, egg, and butter. After pulsing the dough together, it is pressed out into a disk, at which point it can be rolled out or refrigerated for later.

Nick’s instructions make rolling the dough a breeze and result in a nice, round, even crust that presses beautifully into the pan.

This dough makes a wonderfully rich and flaky crust, which is perfect for the tarts and pies in this section. When I used this dough for the savory tarts and pies, I thought that with the addition of a bit of sugar this would also be a great dough for sweet pies and tarts. So I wasn’t surprised when I started the next section of the book and found that Nick’s sweet tart dough is, indeed, the same basic recipe with sugar added.

8 Comments

  1. April 10, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    […] half-a-dozen posts up, including Kayte’s official post for this sweet tart dough. Like its rich cousin in the last section, this dough is super easy to mix up, rolls out great, and tastes fantastic. […]

  2. Renee said,

    April 6, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    I can’t wait to give it a try! I’m behind, but I’m determined to make all three crusts and a few of the tarts before I get to the sweet tarts. That extra month is super helpful! I’m a bit scared by rolling crusts. Great to know this one handles so well– I can use all the help I can get.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 7, 2011 at 8:17 pm

      All three crusts had their merits. This one handled well and was the best tasting overall. The press-in dough was super easy and still tasted good. And the olive oil crust was no fail when it came to rolling and handling.

  3. April 5, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    […] out the dough. The recipe called for olive oil dough, but I’ve become rather fond of the rich pie dough, so that’s what I used for this […]

  4. Kayte said,

    April 5, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    This dough is a dream to make, roll, and eat. I have never had a crust handle so well, and this is definitely going to be my go-to crust for savories from now on. Yours looks wonderful…you certainly roll dough well!

    • gaaarp said,

      April 5, 2011 at 8:39 pm

      I still have moments of frustration, but I’m getting there.

  5. Abby said,

    April 5, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Yay sweet tarts…I’m ready! This was my favorite crust, too.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 5, 2011 at 6:43 pm

      I can’t wait to try the different crusts in the sweet tart section!


Leave a Reply

