Zucchini & Ricotta Pie {ModBak}

The final recipe I made for the Savory Tarts and Pies section of the Modern Baker Challenge was zucchini and ricotta pie.

This was a fairly straightforward recipe. I began by shredding the zucchini in the food processor, then putting it in a strainer set over a bowl. The shredded zucchini was quite wet, and I expected to see quite a bit of water draining off, so I was surprised that, after half an hour, not a single drop had collected in the bowl. I looked at the recipe and quickly realized the problem.

After mixing the zucchini with salt (duh!) and returning it to the strainer, a lot of water began dripping from the zucchini within a few minutes. I let the zucchini drain for about an hour, then rinsed it and squeezed it dry.

Meanwhile, I sautéed onion in olive oil until it became soft and translucent. Then I added the zucchini and cooked it low and slow for about 20 minutes.

While the onions and zucchini were cooking, I rolled out the dough. The recipe called for olive oil dough, but I’ve become rather fond of the rich pie dough, so that’s what I used for this recipe.

After the zucchini had softened and cooked down quite a bit, I scraped it and the onions into a bowl and seasoned it well with salt and pepper. Next, I added ricotta, eggs, chopped parsley, and grated Parmigiano-Reggiano, mixing well after each addition. I poured the filling into the crust and smoothed it out.

I put on the top crust, then trimmed the crusts even with the pan. I baked the pie for 30 minutes at 375°F, until the crust was golden and the filling set.

I cooled the pie in the pan on a rack, then removed it from the pan to serve.

This was a nice pie with which to finish off this section. It was creamy, cheesy, and savory, and was good not only the day it was made but also for lunch the next day.

So, that’s it for the savory tarts and pies. Stay tuned for some sweet stuff!

7 Comments

  1. September 23, 2011 at 7:27 am

    […] not sure what I was doing back on April 8, 2011. Around that time I was finishing up the last of the savory tarts and pies for the Modern Baker Challenge and getting started on the sweet tarts and pies. And I was […]

  2. Renee said,

    April 6, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    Hooray! I feel like there should be music playing over your blog for the final entry! Way to go finishing them all! Very fancy too! You make very pretty crust@.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 7, 2011 at 8:15 pm

      Thanks. My crust-making skills have definitely improved during the Challenge, but I still have a way to go.

  3. sallybr said,

    April 5, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    What a lovely tart, I wish I could make it, but at the present time I must just live vicariously through your (and the rest of the crowd…) baking

    the combination of zucchini and ricotta is a winner, and I’m very curious about this pie dough you are so fond of. I will get to it sometime.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 6, 2011 at 7:02 pm

      I can’t wait to try the sweet version of the dough. It will be fun when you can get back to baking with us!

  4. Kayte said,

    April 5, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    That looks great and I love those fancy decorative bits on the top, very nice touch. Whew…this was a fun section with some very delicious recipes that I will revisit occasionally. The Red Pepper Goat Cheese and the Corn Pudding Tart were the two top favorites apparently. The Swiss Onion and the Ham and Egg were runners up. I don’t have to tell you what finished dead last…lol. Fun baking with you, as always.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 5, 2011 at 10:39 pm

      Those “fancy decorative bits on the top” were a barely averted dough disaster. I rolled out my bottom layer of dough, put it in the pan, then rolled out the top layer and left it on the board. I set the pan on top of it while I moved the board out to the table, then forgot to take the pan off the dough. So by the time I was ready for the top crust, it was a bit smushed and crumbly. Rather than re-roll the whole thing, I just pieced it together.


Leave a Reply

