Blueberry Crumble Pie {ModBak}

By my own self-designed and self-imposed schedule, I’m not supposed to get to this recipe until the first week of July. But I found some beautiful blueberries at Costco last week, and with company coming for Easter, it just seemed too perfect to pass up. So I jumped ahead in the Sweet Tarts & Pies section and made this pie.

This recipe is made with sweet tart dough. Once that was rolled out and panned, I made the crumb topping, which consisted of flour, baking powder, cinnamon, light brown sugar, and melted butter. The topping gets mixed together, then set aside while the filling is made.

Nick’s recipe for the filling is different than other fruit pies I’ve made. Generally, the filling for a fruit pie is either cooked or the fruit, sugar, butter, and spices are mixed and poured into the shell uncooked. In this recipe, some of the berries are cooked in sugar and thickened with cornstarch, and then this mixture is folded into the remaining berries. The whole thing is then dotted with butter and poured into the shell.

I broke up the crumble topping, then spread it over the pie. There was a lot of topping, which I’ve come to expect from Nick’s recipes.

I baked the pie in a 350°F oven for about 40 minutes, until the crust was baked through, the crumble golden, and the filling bubbly. It smelled so good coming out of the oven, I knew that if I hadn’t made it for company, I would have cut into it the minute it was cool enough to handle.

As it was, the pie made it until dinner the next day, although once we did cut into it, it didn’t last long. It was delicious — sweet, fruity, and the crumb topping was to die for. I served it with sweetened whipped cream left over from when I made Strawberry Chantilly Cake.

Unfortunately, with the commotion of Easter dinner I didn’t get any pictures of the finished pie. It looked a lot like the picture in the book. I guess you’ll just have to make it yourself to see just how good it is!

12 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    May 4, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Believe me, this was the biggest hit at our house…the guys are still raving about it and want it the next time I spy great blueberries in the market, because for this you really want great blueberries. Showstopper, yet it was. I can tell by your process photos that yours was great…this has to be one, if not the top one, of our favorites in this book so far.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 4, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      I would say definitely top 5. I will be making it again soon.

  2. May 4, 2011 at 6:46 am

    […] served this cake on Easter, along with blueberry crumble pie and carrot cake. All three were bit hits, and I personally liked the blueberry pie the best. But […]

  3. Renee said,

    May 3, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    This one keeps getting rave reviews. I think I’ll have to add it to my to do list. Usually I’m not a huge fan of just blueberry pie. I like a berry medley better, but I think I’ll have to try it for myself. These tarts are such fun!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 3, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      If you make minis, you could do one with just blueberry, then mix other berries into the rest of the filling for the remaining pies.

  4. May 3, 2011 at 7:35 am

    […] family over for Easter dinner, and this seemed like a perfect, Springy dessert to have along with blueberry crumble pie and strawberry Chantilly […]

  5. Heather said,

    May 3, 2011 at 1:20 am

    Wow. That looks amazing. What I’ve recently come to realize from this book is that I really love pie with crumble topping. I always thought the double crusted ones were better, but not anymore. Your pie looks perfect and I’d kill for a piece right now. I guess I’ll just have to make my own. : )

    • gaaarp said,

      May 3, 2011 at 5:12 pm

      Nick seems to love crumble topping, too. His recipes that use it have a ton of it, and he intends that you put all of it on.

  6. Margaret said,

    May 1, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    That is different. Love blue berries cooked or not so I know I will love this one. Looks perfect, Phy.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 1, 2011 at 11:25 pm

      Thanks. It was delicious. It could have used a tiny drop of lemon juice, but it was so good.

  7. Abby said,

    May 1, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    Loved loved loved this pie!!! So glad it was a hit at your house as well!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 1, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      I’m glad I made it early in the year, as there will be many more delicious blueberries to come.


Leave a Reply

