Strawberry Chantilly Cake {Bake!}

My friend Kayte had a birthday recently. And in a budding Twitterbake tradition, she chose her own birthday cake from Bake! by Nick Malgieri. Kayte always has a cake with strawberries for her birthday, so this was a natural choice.

This was really more of a set of assembly instructions than a recipe. The directions referred to two other recipes — one for the cake layers and the other for sweetened whipped cream — which were combined with fresh strawberries to make this cake.

Assembling the cake was a breeze. The first layer was spread with whipped cream, layered with strawberries, and finished with more whipped cream. Then the top layer was placed on the cake, and the whole thing was spread with whipped cream. I decorated the top of the cake with sliced strawberries.

I served this cake on Easter, along with blueberry crumble pie and carrot cake. All three were bit hits, and I personally liked the blueberry pie the best. But this cake disappeared first. In fact, my 10-year-old nephew had about four pieces!

The cake layers were moist and light, and the whipped cream was so good I just wanted to eat it by the spoonful. It’s important to use really good strawberries for this recipe, as they add a lot to the overall flavor. There was a small piece of cake that escaped the Easter carnage, and I found that it was even better the next day. In fact, the next time I make this cake, I will assemble it a day ahead of time so the flavors have time to meld.

By the way, if you’re wondering why there are no pictures in the post, with all the excitement around here on Easter, I didn’t get any. You’ll just have to trust me that this cake was as beautiful as it was delicious. Or better yet, don’t take my word for it. Get a copy of Bake! and try it for yourself.

9 Comments

  1. June 20, 2012 at 8:11 am

    […] cake. Mom and Dad were coming, and it was Mom’s birthday, so I decided to revisit the Strawberry Chantilly Cake recipe from Nick Malgieri’s Bake! that we made last year for Easter and my friend […]

  2. Renee said,

    May 10, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    This sounds great! I’m so tempted to join you all. The Bake! cookbook sounds so good but I don’t know how you all deal with all of the goodness you make! I’m indulging enough with the Modern Baker.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 10, 2011 at 6:16 pm

      We all take things to share with friends at work, etc. That and we eat way more than we should!

  3. Kayte said,

    May 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    I am still chuckling over someone eating four pieces of this…oh, my! Of course, now that I say that, I realize the guys could easily do that each on any given day. Thanks for baking my birthday cake with me…made it extra fun this year! Definitely better the second day, and when I said that I remembered my grandmother always saying pies were best the day they were made but cakes were always better the second day. She was right on this one as somehow all the flavors settled in and made friends.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 4, 2011 at 9:13 pm

      You’re welcome! It was fun. As we were eating it, I was thinking, “This is Kayte’s birthday cake.” I can’t wait until we get to bake mine!!

  4. ap269 said,

    May 4, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Too bad there aren’t any pictures. This cake sounds awesome! I made the Victoria Sandwich variation, but will definitely try the original recipe as soon as strawberries come into season here!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 4, 2011 at 5:12 pm

      I tried to steal one of Kayte’s pictures from her post, but it was the wrong format.

  5. Abby said,

    May 4, 2011 at 8:44 am

    After Kayte’s and your report, I wish I’d been able to have a piece the day after to try it out. Unfortunately, hubby accidentally left the one tiny leftover piece in the back of the car all night, so we had to trash it in the morning. Guess I’ll have to make it again just to see how it tastes the next day! Oh, the sacrifices. 😉

    • gaaarp said,

      May 4, 2011 at 9:05 am

      That’s OK. Bailey had a few licks of our leftover cake, but I had to try it the next day anyway, based on Kayte’s comments.


Leave a Reply

