Meeting Nancy

One of the things I like about being a member of several bake-and-blog-along groups (Modern Baker Challenge, French Fridays with Dorie, Bake!) is that I get to meet so many cool and interesting people. Of course, we “meet” by following each other’s blogs, Tweeting, e-mailing, etc. We keep up on each other’s baking and cooking adventures, for sure, but we also talk about our spouses, kids, jobs, other hobbies, you name it.  It’s amazing how well you can get to know someone 140 characters at a time.

It’s fun to have friends (and, yes, they are my friends) all over the world. But it’s also fun to meet them in person from time to time.

One of those opportunities came up the other day when my friend Nancy Tweeted to say she was passing through my area the next evening and would love to get together if I had the time. J had been out the day before, so she wasn’t up to hosting, but she didn’t mind if I went out. So the next evening, Nancy and I met at TGI Fridays.

I ask you, which one of us appears to have been on the road for 11 hours?

We spent an hour or two drinking Guinness milkshakes, chatting, laughing,  and getting to know one another better. We talked about our families, cooking, baking, and our other online friends. Even though this was our first in-person meeting, it was more like catching up with an old friend than meeting someone new.

 
Thanks for taking the time to stop by for a bit, Nancy. I enjoyed passing the evening with you. We’ll have to do it again soon.
10 Comments

  1. nancy said,

    May 18, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    Wow, those 2 hours just flew by – so much to chat about! Thanks so much for dropping everything to meet up; next time I’ll try to give you just a bit more notice!!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 18, 2011 at 11:25 pm

      That’s OK. With all that’s happened around here in the past few years, I’ve learned to be flexible. Thanks for stopping by! Enjoy your time with your daughter.

  2. Kayte said,

    May 18, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Great photo of you both…and I am chuckling at the 11 hour drive guess…Nancy does not look like she has been doing anything more taxing than waiting for the waitress to bring her something to sip on! You both look wonderful. What fun!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 18, 2011 at 11:06 pm

      We had a great time. But we both agreed you should have been there, too.

  3. sallybr said,

    May 18, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Very cool! I’ve had the chance to meet many people I initially “met” online, mostly in cooking forums. Never had a single disappointment, I guess people who love to cook are nice by default…

    (am I modest or what? 😉

    • gaaarp said,

      May 18, 2011 at 11:06 pm

      I’ll let you know when I meet you!

  4. Margaret said,

    May 18, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    This is so neat!! Hope for the rest of us – some day!!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 18, 2011 at 11:05 pm

      Anytime you’re in the neighborhood, just give me a call!

  5. Abby said,

    May 18, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    So fun!!!


Leave a Reply

