Roasted Rhubarb {FFwD}

OK, so I’ve been AWOL from French Fridays with Dorie for a while now. I took most of April and all of May off, and I thought it might be time to get back in the game. And this recipe seemed like a good place to start.

To say I’m not a fan of rhubarb would be an understatement. I’ve often wondered how hungry someone had to be to first eat rhubarb. And having been poisoned by the leaves, what possessed them to try again? But to my great surprise, I recently found a rhubarb recipe that I liked — my late mother-in-law’s rhubarb pie.

Flush with my success with baking — and enjoying — rhubarb, I thought I would try my hand at Dorie’s recipe for roasted rhubarb. This recipe is quick and easy. I began by slicing fresh rhubarb.

I put the rhubarb in a baking dish, sprinkled it with sugar and orange zest, and tossed it all together.

I covered the pan and roasted the rhubarb until it was tender and the sugar had dissolved into a syrup. I served the rhubarb warm with whipped cream for a weeknight dessert.

The verdict? Well, let’s put it this way: other than Mom Hartzler’s pie, I’m still not a rhubarb fan. Despite all the sugar, the rhubarb was quite sour. And I’m not sure additional sugar would have helped. There just wasn’t enough flavor in this recipe to make up for the underlying bitterness of the rhubarb. My wife, who loves rhubarb pie, didn’t care for it either.

It’s good to be back on the FFwD wagon. And even though this recipe wasn’t a big hit here, we have loved most of what I’ve made from Dorie’s book. And I’m looking forward to making more.

14 Comments

  1. Cher said,

    July 4, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Rhubarb seems to be a take it or leave it kind of food, I guess…
    Hey – at least you gave it a shot 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      July 4, 2011 at 10:47 pm

      Definitely a “leave it” food for me.

  2. Adriana said,

    June 28, 2011 at 10:03 am

    There’s no ‘red celery’ where I live so I skipped that week’s FFwD recipe and did the Vietnamese chicken noodle soup instead. I like hearing the different opinions on the recipe, especially for an ingredient that I do not know.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 28, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      Adriana, I want to live in a land with no rhubarb. Don’t worry, you didn’t miss much.

  3. June 26, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Roasting it is a brilliant idea. Just read a recipe in Cook’s Illustrated for peach cake where they roast the peaches first. It supposedly gets rid of all the excess moisture which could make a peach cake gummy. Perhaps roasted rhubarb would make a good pie filling, maybe with some strawberries.

    The whipped cream shot is wonderful!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 27, 2011 at 10:31 pm

      Dorie says that roasting it is the only way to really keep the structure of the rhubarb, since it generally turns to mush when cooked.

  4. Renee said,

    June 26, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    I almost made this recipe but I too have been AWOL from FFwD and it might stay that way for a bit longer. I’m trying hard to cook more family/toddler friendly cooking and have a good strong set of recipes that will actually get eaten. I haven’t had a lot of rhubarb but I think I might like this. I like tart.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 26, 2011 at 7:25 pm

      I made this one and the pot au feu, which was a huge hit at a dinner party I took it to. Otherwise, I haven’t done any FFwD cooking in almost 2 months. I don’t eat any pork, so I automatically skip those recipes. And a number of the other ones lately just haven’t excited me at all.

  5. Katie said,

    June 25, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Oh! I love roasted rhubarb, and I’m glad you tried it. I made a roasted rhubarb ice cream recently that I loved.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 25, 2011 at 11:12 pm

      I’ll leave the rhubarb to you, other than Mom’s pie.

  6. Abby said,

    June 25, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Oh, I don’t like rhubarb at all, so kudos to you for trying it! Maybe I’ll be brave and try the rhubarb pie some day……

    • gaaarp said,

      June 25, 2011 at 11:10 pm

      Don’t bother with this recipe if you don’t like rhubarb. I’d be interested to hear what you think of the pie if you try it. My sister-in-law hates rhubarb like I do, be she loves the pie, too.

  7. Kayte said,

    June 25, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Hmmm…not a ringing endorsement by a long shot, and I love rhubarb. Was thinking I would churn some vanilla ice cream and serve it thusly, so will let you know, although there are so many other ways to eat a lot of sugar that you do love, probably not something you will do again just for the experience of it I am guessing. It certainly looks pretty.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 25, 2011 at 1:00 pm

      I think homemade vanilla ice cream can make up for a lot, so that’s probably a smart way to go. If you like rhubarb, you might like it.


Leave a Reply

