Chunky Beets & Icy Red Onions {FFwD}

The first French Fridays with Dorie recipe for July is a simple, delicious salad consisting of roasted beets, icy onions, and a homemade honey Dijon vinaigrette.

I began by roasting the beets in the oven with a bit of water. While the beets were roasting, I prepared the onions by slicing them thinly, rinsing them in cold water, and refrigerating them in a bowl of ice water. Rinsing the onions removes the bitterness; and the ice water makes them nice and crisp.

Once the beets were tender, I let them cool, then peeled them and cut them into small chunks. Meanwhile, I made the vinaigrette, which consisted of Dijon mustard, honey, Sherry vinegar, extra virgin olive oil, salt, and pepper. I tossed the beets and dressing together in a bowl, then refrigerated them until dinner time.

I finished the dish by adding chopped fresh parsley and thyme to the beets, then topping them with drained icy onions.

I served the beets for dinner with next week’s salmon and tomatoes en papilotte. The beets were fresh and flavorful, and the onions were crispy, spicy, and not at all bitter.

My daughter, who talked me into sacrificing one of the beets to make pickled red beet eggs, said she liked the beet salad almost as much as the pickled beets. High praise, indeed.

11 Comments

  1. July 8, 2011 at 7:36 am

    […] made the salmon for dinner the same evening that I made chunky beets and icy red onions, also from Around My French Table, and both were […]

  2. Nancy said,

    July 6, 2011 at 6:55 am

    I have always steamed the beets wrapped in foil in the oven. I don’t know why. I will try roasting them in a pan with water like you did to see if there is a difference. I have also been using the onions in different recipes all week.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 6, 2011 at 8:00 pm

      I usually boil beets and use the water to make pickled red beet eggs, but I liked them roasted.

  3. July 4, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    That is so beautiful! Every time I see a beet recipe I am bound and determined to try them again. I make the recipe and just can’t swallow the beets. Something about the earthy quality of them I guess.
    I am going to use the dressing with yellow and green beans and some hazelnuts and thinly sliced mushrooms.

    Love the onion soaking tip. I do it too!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 4, 2011 at 10:50 pm

      I love the earthy quality of beets. As a kid, I only ever had them pickled from a can, so I’ve been happy to discover so many new ways to enjoy them.

  4. Cher said,

    July 4, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Welcome back!
    Made the salmon last night for dinner (definitely reccomend taking the time to roast the tomatoes in the skillet) and can see where this salmon would be a good match up!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 4, 2011 at 10:49 pm

      I like the overlapping flavors — roasted tomatoes and beets, icy red onions, olive oil. They went really well together.

  5. Kayte said,

    July 3, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Looks really pretty. I bought a beet. It’s still sitting there staring at me accusingly. I am going to attempt a very small recipe of this as no one here apparently likes beets…we shall see. Yours certainly looks good. I hope I like beets!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 3, 2011 at 11:03 pm

      How could you not like beets? Give them a try. What do yo have to lose?

  6. Teresa said,

    July 3, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I really loved this salad – though I’m with your daughter in her love for pickled beets, as well. The onions were such a nice surprise! I’m going to use this method often. Great call serving the beets with the salmon and tomatoes!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 3, 2011 at 11:01 pm

      I’m going to use the same onions for the salmon in a jar recipe. They are so good.


Leave a Reply

