Lemon Curd {Recipe}

When my friend Di decided to host a virtual ice cream social, I knew right away that I wanted to contribute my newly-created Pimm’s No. 1 Ice Cream Cup recipe. The only problem was that I hadn’t actually written it yet. And I had intended to use it as the culmination of a 5-day lemon-lime extravaganza, which would include recipes for lemon curd, lime curd, lemon curd ice cream, and lime curd ice cream (none of which I had written, either).

I decided to go ahead with the plan, so I will be posting these recipes over the next few days, ending with the Pimm’s ice cream on Sundae Sunday.

Lemon Curd

(based on a recipe by Alton Brown)

Ingredients

  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 4 lemons, zested and juiced
  • 1 stick cold butter

Directions

  1. Put water in a medium saucepan to a depth of about 1 inch. Place the saucepan over medium-high heat and bring to a simmer. Lower heat.
  2. Combine eggs and sugar in a metal bowl large enough to fit over saucepan without the bottom of the bowl touching water in the pan. Whisk until light, about 1 minute.
  3. Add lemon juice and zest to the egg mixture, place bowl over simmering water, and cook, stirring constantly, until thickened, 5-7 minutes. Remove from heat.
  4. Cut butter into 10 pieces and whisk it into lemon curd, one piece at a time, stirring until melted before adding the next piece.
  5. Scrape curd into a container, cover the surface with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until well chilled.

Makes 2 cups.

This curd is delicious. It tastes a lot like lemon meringue pie filling and can be used to make lemon curd ice cream or tart, or eaten on toast, scones, or directly from the jar.

4 Comments

  1. July 24, 2011 at 7:20 am

    […] few weeks ago, I decided to try coming up with a few curd recipes — first lemon, then lime. I wanted the citrus curds to use in ice cream — again developing my own recipes […]

  2. July 21, 2011 at 8:25 am

    […] that I could tinker with to get the mix I wanted. That, in turn, led to a search for the perfect lemon curd and lime curd.  For the lemon curd and ice cream, I ended up adapting my own recipes from some […]

  3. Kayte said,

    July 19, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Two cups…I could eat the whole two cups with a spoon out of the refrigerator over the course of a week. Oh, yeah. Love the idea of this whole week of ice cream bits bit.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 19, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      It was sort of a natural progression: lemon curd, lemon ice cream, lime curd, lime ice cream, and Pimm’s, which includes all of the above. If it weren’t for Di’s Sundae Sunday idea, I doubt I would have found the motivation to post them all, though.


Leave a Reply

