Lemon Curd Ice Cream {Recipe}

In my recent attempt to come up with a recipe for Pimm’s ice cream , I took Vizzini’s advice and went back to the beginning. I knew that I wanted to use lemon and lime flavors, so I searched for ice cream recipes that I could tinker with to get the mix I wanted. That, in turn, led to a search for the perfect lemon curd and lime curd.  For the lemon curd and ice cream, I ended up adapting my own recipes from some that I found online. The lime recipes were derived from the lemon ones.

As the basis of the lemon ice cream recipe, I used one from my friend Tracey’s blog, which she adapted from Murphy’s Ice Cream Book of Sweet Things. I stuck with the basic ingredients from Tracey’s recipe, but tinkered with the proportions a bit; and I made several significant changes to the instructions, which I think simplified the recipe without negatively impacting the results.

 Lemon Curd Ice Cream

(Adapted from Tracey’s Culinary Adventures)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup milk
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup lemon curd
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • juice of 1 lemon

Directions

  1. Bring the milk to a simmer in a medium saucepan. Meanwhile, whisk egg yolks and sugar in a medium bowl until thick and light lemon colored, about 1 minute.
  2. Pour the milk into the egg mixture in a slow, steady stream, whisking constantly, to temper the egg yolks.
  3. Pour the mixture into the saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens, 5-7 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in lemon curd, lemon zest, cream, and lemon juice, in order, mixing well between each addition.
  5. For best results, refrigerate overnight before churning in ice cream freezer according to manufacturer’s instructions.
15 Comments

  1. Tracey said,

    July 30, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I want to try your adapted version now! Oh, and the lime curd too! You could keep me busy all weekend here 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      July 30, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      Thanks! I knew I might make it once using metric measurements, but if I wanted to make it a recipe I would go back to, I had to convert it. Let me know what you think!

  2. July 24, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    […] of Of Cabbages and Kings, took Tracey’s recipe {which I had been planning to make as well as 100% of the rest of her […]

  3. July 24, 2011 at 7:20 am

    […] lime. I wanted the citrus curds to use in ice cream — again developing my own recipes for lemon and lime ice […]

  4. Margaret said,

    July 22, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    WE LOVE LOVE LOVE this ice cream. Thanks to you and Tracey, we have a new fav!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 22, 2011 at 11:04 pm

      Thanks. I’m glad to hear you like it!

  5. July 21, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Can you bring me a double scoop in a cone please?

    • gaaarp said,

      July 22, 2011 at 12:45 am

      Sure, I’ll be right over. But if it starts to melt, I might have to lick around the edges a bit.

  6. Renee said,

    July 21, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    I just got an ice cream/sorbet maker for my birthday. I might have to give this a try…. with your lime curd! And here I thought summer would be healthier for me as I’d be less interested in pies and baking. Bring on ice cream!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 21, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      Ice cream’s good for you. Dairy, fruit, juice. What could be healthier?

  7. Abby said,

    July 21, 2011 at 10:22 am

    I’m glad to know that your adapted methodology still produced delicious ice cream. I’m curious to try your version and the original to compare textures…it is so light and dreamy with the folded in whipped cream at the end. What was your texture like?

    • gaaarp said,

      July 21, 2011 at 6:27 pm

      It was light, creamy, and delicious! And it held up really well. I still have some in the freezer, and it’s as good as when I made it a few weeks ago. I never tried whipping the cream first, so I don’t know how it would compare, but this was so creamy I can’t imagine it would have made much difference.

      • Abby said,

        July 21, 2011 at 8:06 pm

        So nice to know it’s just as good, without that fussy extra step! =)

  8. Kayte said,

    July 21, 2011 at 10:09 am

    That photo is outstanding. I don’t need to tell you that you could park that right here and I would count it breakfast lunch dinner for the entire day and not feel like I missed a single thing!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 21, 2011 at 6:24 pm

      I know. I think I’ll start stealing all of my pictures from Tracey’s blog!


Leave a Reply

