Salmon and Potatoes in a Jar {FFwD}

This week’s recipe for French Fridays with Dorie was, for me, a long time coming. Month after month, it appeared on the poll; and month after month, it got voted down. Finally, this month came around and, as fate would have it, there was no poll. Laurie (or fearless moderator) asked for suggestions for August recipes, and I jumped in with this one right away. My persistence finally paid off, and this week we are — finally — featuring cold cured salmon in a jar!

Even though it sounds kind of exotic, this is really a simple recipe. After curing salmon and boiling potatoes, you pack them in jars with herbs, spices, aromatics, and oil.

I began by tossing a few thick chunks of center cut salmon in salt and sugar, then packing them in a zipper seal bag and chilling them in the refrigerator for about 18 hours.

The next day I boiled some new potatoes in salted water until they were knife tender, then drained and sliced them. I rinsed the brine from the salmon and patted the pieces dry with paper towel.

I packed the salmon and potatoes in separate jars, layering them with coriander seeds, peppercorns, bay leaves, thyme, carrots, onion and, in the case of the potatoes, a little salt.

I filled both jars with olive oil, then topped the potatoes with a splash of vinegar.

I refrigerated the jars overnight, then served the salmon, potatoes, and vegetables for lunch the next day.

This was a delicious and surprisingly light lunch. The salmon and potatoes both picked up a lot of flavor from the herbs and spices without becoming overly oily. As the only one in my family to eat salmon, I enjoyed several lunches from this recipe.

I was really looking forward to trying this recipe, and it didn’t disappoint. Now I just need to find some adventurous friends to share it with!

37 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    August 29, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    I think this would really be a standout to have at a brunch! It looks great.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 29, 2011 at 7:46 pm

      Thanks. I really want to serve this at a luncheon or dinner party just to see how people react.

  2. Kayte said,

    August 14, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Can one still “Return to Sender”? In Elvis’ day they could! I don’t think that was about fish in a jar, however. lol

    • gaaarp said,

      August 14, 2011 at 3:43 pm

      At least in his later years, Elvis would never have returned food. Any food.

  3. Kayte said,

    August 14, 2011 at 7:55 am

    It looks pretty. Prettier than the fish pie at least. 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      August 14, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      I belieive that’s what you call “damning with faint praise”. Be careful: unlike the curried fish pie, this one could be mailed.

  4. Betsy said,

    August 12, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    I’m glad you suggested this one. It’s definitely a winner. I loved it. Great photos!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2011 at 10:35 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked it.

  5. Steph I said,

    August 12, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    So glad you enjoyed this. I just couldn’t bring myself to eat the salmon, but my hubby loved it!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      Did you at least try the potatoes? I hope so; they were really good, too.

  6. Elin said,

    August 12, 2011 at 8:59 am

    I enjoyed this so much that I want to make another batch. Love your step by step photos 🙂 great photos !

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2011 at 9:14 am

      Thanks. We are the few, the proud, the raw salmon lovers!

  7. Mary said,

    August 12, 2011 at 7:24 am

    persistence pays off. we loved it at our house. thanks for this great pick. i love your step by step photos.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2011 at 7:41 am

      Glad you liked it. Even though I was the only one to eat it here, I could certainly see making it again.

  8. August 12, 2011 at 6:44 am

    Even though I delegated this one to a willing friend, I am curious now as to how it tastes. It looks like Europe’s answer to ceviche – much richer, of course, with fatty salmon and all that olive oil.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2011 at 7:39 am

      It definitely wasn’t your typical light salmon dish. But it was so good!

  9. August 12, 2011 at 3:24 am

    Happy that you finally got to try it, I too have a few recipes which I am impatiently waiting to see pop up on the list. I guess that’s what keeps us going.

    Your salmon looks great, sorry to hear that you had to eat it alone.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2011 at 7:37 am

      Thanks. I wasn’t sorry at all!

  10. August 11, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Aha, so you were the reason we had to overcome our fear and do this week’s recipe! 😉 Thank you, though for suggesting it because it all turned out well and everyone (even the kids), loved the cured salmon. I must say, I do like the look of you salmon fillets, they’re so fat and juicy unlike mine!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Thanks. Glad to hear everyone liked it. I may get my kids to try it one of these days. They’re both pretty adventurous. I see sushi in both of their futures.

  11. Alice said,

    August 11, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I liked it both ways, just out of the jar and roasted also -although I put mine in a pasta…. if you’re family doesnt want to eat it, more for you! LOL! Good job!
    Where is the poll at for recipes??

  12. Eileen said,

    August 11, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    If I could get my hands on some decent fresh fish, I would have had the courage to try it. My fish was funky from the start, though, so I just couldn’t do it.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2011 at 4:22 pm

      I don’t blame you. I woudn’t have tried it without fresh, healthy looking fish.

  13. nancy/n.o.e. said,

    August 11, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Persistence wins out! Although getting it on the recipe list doesn’t seem to guarantee that people will actually cook it, at least you can post your version and rave about it, right? Love your adventurous spirit! If you put it in front of me I’d at least taste it…

    • gaaarp said,

      August 11, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      I’ll serve this to you when I make curried fish pie for Kayte!

      • nancy/n.o.e. said,

        August 11, 2011 at 10:51 pm

        The curried fish pie actually sounds good to me. People and their tastes are so individual!

  14. Margaret said,

    August 11, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Yeah, I passed this one up, even knowing how much you liked it when you made it. Just could not bring myself to even try it.

    Your jars of ‘raw’ food look beautiful. Nice job on this one!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 11, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      Thanks (I think).

  15. Cher said,

    August 11, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Glad this was a hit for you. It was ok, I guess, but the family told me not to make it again 😦
    It does look like the picture, though!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 11, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      I didn’t even ask my family to weigh in on it. My girls will sometimes eat salmon, but they would have turned their noses up at it raw.

  16. Kathy said,

    August 11, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Your Salmon in the jar looks just like Dories picture! I have to say I passed on this one…It just didn’t appeal to me! Great job! Glad you enjoyed it!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 11, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks. I really liked this one.

  17. Liz said,

    August 11, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    I’m eating this one by myself, too…and, truthfully, I don’t want to share 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      August 11, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      Our families don’t know what they’re missing. Let’s not tell them!


Leave a Reply

