Glazed Baked Cider Doughnuts {Recipe}

I’ve had my eye on a doughnut pan for a while, and the other day at the outlet mall one somehow jumped into my bag. So for Sunday morning breakfast, we had delicious cider doughnuts with a cider glaze.

This recipe is adapted from King Arthur Flour and uses their delicious boiled cider. It makes six doughnuts, just right for the pan, but could easily be doubled.

Cider Doughnuts

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons boiled cider
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup milk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Lightly grease a six-cavity doughnut pan.
  2. Combine butter, oil, sugar, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg in bowl of mixer. Beat until smooth, then add boiled cider and egg, beating well after each addition.
  3. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a small bowl.
  4. Alternate adding flour mixture and milk to mixing bowl, stirring well on low speed after each addition. Add flour in three additions and milk in two, beginning and ending with flour.
  5. The batter will have the consistency of quick bread batter. Spoon batter into the pan and smooth the tops.
  6. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, until the doughnuts are baked through and a cake tester or toothpick inserted into the center of one comes out clean.
  7. Cool for 5 minutes in the pan, then turn out onto a rack to finish cooling.
  8. While the doughnuts are cooling, make the glaze. In a small, shallow bowl, mix 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon boiled cider, and 2 teaspoons cream, milk, or water. Stir to mix and add additional cream or powdered sugar as needed so that the glaze has the consistency of molasses.
  9. Dip the tops of doughnuts in the glaze. If necessary, scrape away any excess glaze with a spatula. Place doughnuts on wire rack over waxed paper.

Makes 6 doughnuts. Try not to eat them all yourself.

11 Comments

  1. Pamela said,

    August 21, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    I am so envious that you got a discounted donut pan! I have been drooling over this recipe ever since the KAF catalog came. And I keep telling my husband that I NEED a donut pan. Just another recipe I want to try. Looks so yummy!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 21, 2011 at 10:00 pm

      Tell him a donut pan is a gift that will keep on giving.

  2. Abby said,

    August 14, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    Oh, these look really really good! My mom found a couple of doughnut pans and gave them to me a while ago, but I haven’t tried them yet. Suppose I need to get some boiled cider? Or maybe I’ll just jump in with the chocolate variety……

    • gaaarp said,

      August 14, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      The original recipe on the KAF website says you can substitute frozen apple juice concentrate for the boiled cider. But if your ordering from KAF anyway, I’d definitely go for the good stuff.

  3. Di said,

    August 14, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Your doughnuts look prettier than mine, though. I made my glaze a little too thin, so it didn’t stay on the doughnuts as well. But it tasted good. =) Definitely time to look for some more recipes.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 14, 2011 at 4:07 pm

      I think we’ll try chocolate doughnuts next. A will be asking for pumpkin ones as soon as she thinks of it.

      • Di said,

        August 14, 2011 at 8:08 pm

        Ooh, pumpkin sounds like a good idea to me, too! I am so ready for fall flavors. Now if the weather would just consider cooperating…

        • gaaarp said,

          August 14, 2011 at 9:19 pm

          I’m not waiting for Fall weather to start making Fall food. You know about my pumpkin obsession. But I’ve expanded to apple, cranberry, pecan, etc. It must be my attempt to imagine cooler weather.

  4. Kayte said,

    August 14, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Jumped into your cart, did it? Looks right at home there…I can’t wait to see what follows you home next. These doughnuts look wonderful.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 14, 2011 at 3:42 pm

      Thanks. They were really good. Di bought a doughnut pan yesterday, too, and made these doughnuts today. We’re like psychic twins!


Leave a Reply

