Café Salle Pleyel Hamburger {FFwD}

I meant to make this week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe. I really did.

I made the onion marmalade:

I mixed the filling in the food processor:

I even took ground buffalo and sirloin out of the freezer and bought the hamburger buns.

But something happened when I went to make the burgers.

Yep, I made a meatloaf. I’m not sure why; I was just in the mood for meatloaf. The filling, with its tomatoes, capers, pickles, and herbs, seemed like a great base for a meatloaf. And the onion marmalade was perfect on top.

This was a great meatloaf. It held together well, and the flavor was outstanding. We enjoyed it for dinner the night it was made, and as sandwiches the next day.

Sometime I might make this recipe it as hamburgers.  But I will definitely make it again as meatloaf.

32 Comments

  1. betsy said,

    August 27, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I didn’t love the burgers though the meat mixture did taste great. I think your meatloaf variation is the solution.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      I find that meatloaf is the solution to so many problems!

  2. Teresa said,

    August 27, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Meatloaf is a great variation for this recipe. I agree with you about the onion marmalade, too – it’s got a lot of potential uses.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      I have a red onion sitting on the counter, just waiting to be made into marmalade!

  3. August 27, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I’m really glad you enjoyed the flavors of the recipe this way. Thanks for the inspiration! I bet it’s awesome with mashed potatoes as Eileen suggested.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 28, 2011 at 5:30 pm

      What isn’t awesome with mashed potatoes!?!

  4. Genkinaonna said,

    August 27, 2011 at 12:27 am

    I think that meatloaf is a brilliant idea. And that onion jam was the bomb!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 28, 2011 at 5:34 pm

      Thanks. I think that onion jam would be good on about any savory dish.

  5. Tasty Mayhem said,

    August 26, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    This is why I’m so glad there is a group of us cooking together – I love meatloaf and never thought of doing this! Great idea.Thank you.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      As I was mixing the meat and filling, it just seemed like a natural choice.

  6. August 26, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Yes, a meatloaf does make lots of sense. Love that squiggle of ketchup on top. So eye-catching!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 26, 2011 at 9:02 pm

      Thanks. It just didn’t seem like meatloaf without ketchup on top!

  7. Kathy said,

    August 26, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    Great idea…I bet it was a delicious meatloaf! It certainly looks wonderful! I really enjoyed all the flavors going on in this dish!

  8. Elin said,

    August 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Great idea to make the beef burgers into meatloaf..I shall try making this into meatloaf the next time I use the recipe 🙂 I know why it is so popular in Paris..Dorie’s is great in sharing this recipe with us !

    • gaaarp said,

      August 26, 2011 at 12:21 pm

      I want to try it as burgers next time, now that I’m reading everyone else’s posts!

  9. Eileen said,

    August 26, 2011 at 8:58 am

    I’ll join the chorus here and agree that you had the right idea making this as a meatloaf. My burger was begging me for something, and now I know what: mashed potatoes!!

  10. Cher said,

    August 26, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Nothing wrong with meatloaf! Especially one that tastes good 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      August 26, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      I agree. Nothing wrong, indeed!

  11. August 26, 2011 at 5:05 am

    Do you know, I actually think this recipe might work better as a meat loaf. I could see enjoying it as meat loaf, I wasn’t a huge fan of it in burger form.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 26, 2011 at 6:40 am

      You should try it as meatloaf and see if you like it any better.

  12. dulceshome said,

    August 26, 2011 at 12:24 am

    That looks wonderful! And why not meatloaf??

    • gaaarp said,

      August 26, 2011 at 6:40 am

      My thoughts exactly!!

  13. Cakelaw said,

    August 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    I love the meatloaf idea – you can then use your carb component up in a nice potato mash. Yum!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 26, 2011 at 6:39 am

      Yes, definitely a hit with mashed potatoes; or with bread as a sandwich.

  14. Steph I said,

    August 25, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Meatloaf was a great idea! Looks quite yummy!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 26, 2011 at 6:38 am

      Thanks! It was really good this way.

  15. August 25, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    And what is not to love about meatloaf? I love your reformatting!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 25, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      Thanks, Trevor. It was really good. I don’t know why the burgers didn’t inspire me, but I’m glad the meatloaf did!

  16. Kayte said,

    August 25, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Looks good as meatloaf! I sampled that onion jam way too many times while it was cooking…oh my was that delicious! Guess I will need to try this as meatloaf soon.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 25, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      The onion marmalade is definitely going to find its way into other recipes around here.


Leave a Reply

