Feuillettés with Berries & Cream {ModBak}

For the Puff Pastry section of the Modern Baker Challenge, I’ve decided to take a more organized approach to baking and posting the recipes. In previous sections, I made the recipes roughly in order (although not always) and wrote and published posts as I finished each recipe. As a result, I would often publish several recipes in a row over the course of a few days and would usually finish the section well before the end of the allotted time frame.

At the beginning of the month, as we moved into the Puff Pastry section, I decided to institute “Modern Baker Mondays”. As the name implies, I’ll be posting the recipes on Mondays. I’m going to post one per week, in the order the recipes appear in the book, regardless of when and in what order I actually bake them.

This week’s Modern Baker Mondays offering is the last in a series of sweet mille-feuille, which included chocolate-filled Napoleons and raspberry mille-feuille. The feuillettés are similar to the raspberry mille-feuille, the main differences being size (the feuillettés are mini mille-feuille) and the use of crème anglaise instead of pastry cream.

The feuillettés are comprised of four components — crème anglaise, macerated berries, whipped cream, and disks cut from a baked pastry layer.

Crème anglaise

 Making the crème anglaise is the most time-consuming part, but it’s not difficult. And it’s so good, you may find yourself making it again to use for other things, like berries and cream or crème anglaise ice cream.

Once everything is prepared, it’s just a matter of putting the feuillettés together. This simply involves layering pastry disks, whipped cream, berries, and crème anglaise. So easy a child could do it. Really.

Feuillettés, some assembly required

 We had fun putting these together, and even more fun eating them.

Feuillettés with berries and cream

 This was a simple, stunning, and delicious dessert. It would make the perfect finish to a summer dinner party.

8 Comments

  1. Margaret said,

    August 29, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    A whole new trend for many of us. Also going to post on Mondays for MB. THanks for that one….

    I need your assembly line workers. Cute ones too. These look good and are next in line. After I do the BAKE! selection.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 29, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      The only trouble with my workers is that they eat everything they assemble!

  2. Melanie said,

    August 29, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    Oh my, very yummy looking!!! Wish I could’ve been there. Lucky kids!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 29, 2011 at 7:50 pm

      Thanks! We would have been happy to share!

  3. Abby said,

    August 29, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    These look amazing! What a fun, light dessert for a summer dinner party. I’m hoping I can still keep up with MB now that school’s in session…we’ll see!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 29, 2011 at 7:50 pm

      I know what you mean. Even though I’m not in school, things get so busy when the girls go back that it’s hard to keep up with everything.

  4. Kayte said,

    August 29, 2011 at 10:55 am

    That last photo is fab! Thanks for process photos and encouragement to get moving on this. I am going to try to make Mondays Modern Baker (and Bake!) as well (thinking Modern Baker and Malgieri)…our dessert consumption is probably going down considerably with Empty Nest, so minis will be more prevelant, and might skip more than before. I’m still working on the last section, hopefully I will get my act together sooner rather than later. My favorite photo in this post is M&A The Assembly Women…so cute, and much appreciated since I am sadly lacking in kid fix these past couple of weeks.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 29, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      Thanks. It’s fun to have help in the kitchen. I even enjoyed it when they were younger and their “help” meant more work for me.

      I’m going to be scaling down and/or taking more things to work, as my boyish figure is suffering from all these goodies.


Leave a Reply

