Apple Tarte Tatin {ModBak}

After my recent tatin disaster, you’d think I wouldn’t want to rush right back in and try another one. But as I’m never one to let a little thing like failure dissuade me, jump back in I did. Besides, this it the real thing — a classic apple tarte tatin.

Having learned from my issues with the pineapple tatin, I did make some changes this time. To begin with, I made my caramel in a saucepan. That way, I could pour it out as soon as it was done so it wouldn’t overcook.

Now that, my friends, if perfectly cooked caramel. Despite my history of burning caramel, this time I nailed it.

The other change I made to the recipe was to bake it in a cake pan instead of a sauté pan. I poured the cooked caramel into the cake pan, then layered on the apples.

I covered the pan with puff pastry dough, which didn’t melt this time, as the pan wasn’t hot.

I baked the tatin at 350°F for about an hour, then cooled it a bit before turning it out onto a plate.

It was obvious at first glance that the caramel wasn’t overcooked on this tatin like it was when I made the pineapple tatin, and I was hopeful that this one would make up for the disaster I had the first time around.

I didn’t have any ice cream, so I served this one naked.

As it turned out, this tatin didn’t need any adornment. It was delicious. The caramel was perfectly cooked and complemented the apples beautifully. I would gladly make this again, caramel and all. In fact, this may just be the recipe to help me overcome my mental block with caramel.

8 Comments

  1. September 10, 2012 at 8:23 am

    […] misadventures with caramel are legend (although I’ve had some successes, too). At least I’m at the point of not fearing caramel in recipes anymore. So I wasn’t […]

  2. January 16, 2012 at 8:08 am

    […] previous issues with making caramel for semolina cake and pineapple tatin, I have since had better success with caramel, so I felt pretty good about making the filling for these bars. Besides, this caramel started with […]

  3. Melanie said,

    September 19, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    So happy that this one turned out so much better for you!! Really wonderful tips and I’ll be sure to come back to this post when I make this. I don’t believe I’ve ever tried making caramel before, possibly because of the challenges it poses. Looks like an awesome dessert!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 19, 2011 at 8:17 pm

      I think caramel is like pastry dough. It takes some skill, but mostly just requires practice.

  4. Abby said,

    September 12, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Ooooooh, thank you so much for the helpful hints…I will be following all of them to the letter! Ditto Kayte on the perfect use for apples from the orchard this weekend. And I’m so happy to see the picture of the perfectly-cooked caramel, as I’m always so nervous about judging when it’s done enough but not too done.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 12, 2011 at 10:04 am

      A lot of people dribble the caramel on a white plate to judge it’s color. To me, it’s just one more mess to clean, and I’m afraid the caramel will overcook while I’m fussing about with the plate.

  5. Kayte said,

    September 12, 2011 at 8:59 am

    Looks absolutely gorgeous…quite possibly the way to go with some of the apples we brought home from the orchard yesterday. That process photo of the finished caramel is making my mouth water!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 12, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Some of your apples should definitely be destined for a tatin! It’s so good!


Leave a Reply

