Fig & Almond Bread {BOM}

This month’s BOM (bread of the month) for the Facebook Artisan Bread Bakers group is a recipe that Nick Malgieri recently developed for his upcoming book. You can find the recipe here.

The recipe is made with a basic, sweetened bread dough enhanced with:

Figs!

And Almonds!

 I kneaded the dough in my Kitchen Aid mixer and added the figs and almonds near the end. In order to get them to mix in better, I first flattened the dough in the bottom of the mixer…

…then spread the figs and almonds on top.

I pressed the fruit and nuts into the dough, then folded the dough over itself several times with a bench scraper.

The dough is minimally kneaded at the beginning and further mixed and developed through several “turns”. After an initial 30 minute rest, I gave the dough its first turn:

First, I flattened the dough on a pastry mat.

 

Next, I folded the sides in toward the center.

 

Finally, I rolled the dough from one of the short ends,

 

...and returned it to the bowl to continue rising.

 I let the dough rise for another 30 minutes, then gave it a second turn. After 30 more minutes, it was ready to be shaped into a boule.

This dough was very nice to work with and easy to shape. And it baked up beautifully. I served the bread for dinner, along with some freshly baked French bread.

This bread was absolutely delicious! The figs and almonds paired well together, making the bread flavorful but not overly sweet. If you like raisins in bread, you’ll like this bread, even if you don’t usually like figs.

This bread really has me looking forward to Nick’s book. I can’t wait to see what else he has up his sleeve!

4 Comments

  1. September 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    This looks delicious, I love figs… and it must have been delicious warm out of the oven!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 15, 2011 at 4:05 pm

      Warm, room temperature, reheated, toasted,… 🙂

  2. Kayte said,

    September 14, 2011 at 7:44 am

    Looks great…we loved, loved, loved this bread. I will be making it again soon as there wasn’t any left to try it with toast or to put very very thin slices of brie in between two slices and grill it for toasted cheese. Both of which sound like fine options. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 14, 2011 at 8:04 am

      Glad you liked it. We did, too. I’d like to try it agin in a bread pan (maybe the Nancy pan) to use for French toast.


Leave a Reply

