Easy as (Peach) Pie

This past weekend, we took a trip to a local orchard. This is something we always do in the Fall, usually several times. It’s as much a part of the change of seasons as falling leaves, sweatshirts, and college football (go  Irish!).

On this trip M surprised me by asking for a half peck of peaches so that she could bake a peach pie. Other than the deep dish peach pie with lattice topping that I made recently for the Modern Baker Challenge, I don’t know that I’ve made a peach pie since M was born. I love peach pie, I just never bake them. But I’m always one to encourage my girls’ baking endeavors, so we bought the peaches, along with some Honeycrisp apples, cider, caramel apples, and fudge.

M wanted to make the pie all on her own, using a recipe from Better Homes & Gardens. She even turned down the offer of a premade crust from the freezer. So I advised her to chill her pastry ingredients and explained how to use a boiling water bath to peel the peaches, then got out of the way.

And, left to her own devices, this is what she came up with:

She came up with the idea for the fruit cut-out on her own and did it freehand.

It was late when she finished baking the pie, so we let it cool overnight and had it for breakfast the next morning.

I was amazed — but not surprised — by how delicious the pie came out. The crust was flaky and perfectly done, and the filling was fruity, spicy, and very flavorful.

It’s good to know M didn’t inherit my pastry gene. After baking about 50 tarts and pies for the Modern Baker Challenge, I’ve finally overcome my mental block with pie crust. M somehow nailed it on her first try.

5 Comments

  1. nancy/n.o.e. said,

    September 18, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Love that peach pie, Molly! Well, I love the way it looks and I know I’d love the way it tastes. Peach pie is a big favorite around here. Is there anything better than pie for breakfast?

  2. Abby said,

    September 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Yay, Molly!!! This is amazing…just love the cut out in the center of the pie…she’s so creative! And peach pie for breakfast? Yes, please. =)

    • gaaarp said,

      September 18, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      Breakfast, lunch, dinner!

  3. Kayte said,

    September 18, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Molly, this looks wonderful! Peach pie is hard for me to do…the bottom always gets overly soggy and the top never holds its shape…you did a beautiful job! Very pretty, too.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 18, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      Thanks, Kayte. I’ll pass that along to the baker.


Leave a Reply

