Apricot & Almond Strudel {ModBak}

This week’s recipe for the Modern Baker Challenge was a quick, easy dessert. It consisted of puff pastry with an almond paste filling and apricots. I decided to make this for dessert the other evening about 10 minutes before dinner went on the table. And I had it in the oven before we sat down to eat.

I rolled out the pastry dough, mixed the almond filling with the Kitchen Aid mixer, and drained a can of apricots. I spread the filling over half of the dough, then topped it with apricots.

I slit the top dough, placed it on the strudel, and pressed it in place. I fluted the edges with the back of a paring knife, and it was ready to bake while we ate dinner.

By the time we were done eating, the strudel was ready to come out of the oven.

I set the strudel on a rack to cool while we cleaned up the dinner dishes; then we cut into it.

We all enjoyed this strudel. The puff pastry was, of course, rich, buttery, and flaky. The almond filling was delicious and paired well with the slightly sweet, slightly tangy apricots.

This was a perfect weeknight dessert. Easy to throw together at the last minute, and absolutely delicious. And, hey, it had fruit in it, so it must have been good for us, too!

8 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    September 20, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Eek! I need to make these while apricots are still to be had!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 20, 2011 at 5:58 pm

      I used canned apricots, which actually worked pretty well.

  2. Renee said,

    September 19, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    That looks so good… and helps confirm that I should not learn to make more puff pastry recipes!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 20, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      You should make them all!! Why should I be the only one to gain 15 pounds making these recipes?

  3. Melanie said,

    September 19, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Mmmmm!! Yours looks wonderful! What a coincidence, I just made my strudel too, yesterday. It was delicious (mine was apples), but it was messy baking. Butter everywhere (made a little mess in the bottom of the oven). I will try apricots if I make this one again. Did you have whipped cream or ice cream w/ yours?

    • gaaarp said,

      September 19, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      We ate this one plain, warm from the oven. The puff pastry does have a tendancy to give up a lot of butter when it bakes (just wait until you make a puff pastry layer and invert the pans). I like to use a jellyroll pan with a lip to catch the drips, or an oven liner.

  4. Kayte said,

    September 19, 2011 at 10:50 am

    Oh, that looks lovely, so nice and flaky and I could pick all the fruit out of this to eat separately with no problem!! You know, just in case I want to ever, because sometimes I do and all. Very pretty. I hope your family thanks you profusely on a daily basis.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 19, 2011 at 10:53 am

      They do appreciate my efforts, at least the successful ones.


Leave a Reply

