Garlicky Crumb-coated Broccoli {FFwD} {AMFT}

I’m not sure what I was doing back on April 8, 2011. Around that time I was finishing up the last of the savory tarts and pies for the Modern Baker Challenge and getting started on the sweet tarts and pies. And I was Twitterbaking recipes from Bake! with some friends.

What I wasn’t doing was making this recipe with the rest of the French Fridays with Dorie members.

So the other evening while I was making Dorie’s chicken breasts diable and looking for a side to serve with it, I thought I’d play a little catch up and make garlicky crumb-coated broccoli.

This was a very simple recipe. I put the broccoli in the rice steamer to cook while I prepared the crumb coating. I melted butter, and sautéed garlic in it. Then I added bread crumbs and toasted them for a few minutes. Finally, I stirred in lemon oil and parsley, then added the broccoli and tossed it all together.

This was a great side dish, as delicious as it was simple. As for how it went with the chicken breasts diable, well, you’ll have to check back next week.

9 Comments

  1. September 30, 2011 at 8:09 am

    […] served the chicken with Garlicky Crumb-coated Broccoli and mashed sweet […]

  2. teaandscones said,

    September 26, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Boy Have I got catching up to do with FFwD. And this one may be the place to start. Love Broc and then add the crumbs and garlic. YUM!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 27, 2011 at 10:31 pm

      I have given up on trying to keep up or catch up. I haven’t completely abandonned it like Kayte, but I’m just making the recipes that interest me. I’m still trying to post on Fridays, but not always the official FFwD recipe for that day.

  3. Kayte said,

    September 26, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    We loved this so much that I have made it several times since…not that many breadcrumbs, though…I must have read it wrong originally and kept at it. Oh, well, we like it fine. The chicken was great, maybe I should get mine posted next week as well. I want to do the other one we talked about (page next to) next week if you are interested, mushrooms have been on sale each week for the past few weeks so now would be a good time. Not going to do that BLT recipe…the girls might like it…it could be a girl salad day and you could eat something truly disgusting like liver or something. Just sayin’.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 26, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      I could have cut the breadcrumbs a bit, and it still would have been fine. No BLT salad around here. The girls can make their own if they want it.

  4. Pamela said,

    September 25, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Yum! Ellie Krieger makes this and calls it dirty broccoli. It is so flipping good!!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 25, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      If I called it that, my kids probably wouldn’t eat it!

  5. Cher said,

    September 23, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Hmmm – good idea to pair them with the diable. I am curious on it all worked out.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 23, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      I’ll post the diable next week in lieu of the BLT recipe, which isn’t happening around here.


Leave a Reply

