Squash, Sausage, and Apples {Recipe}

One of my family’s favorite dishes, and one that frequently appears on our table this time of year, is some combination of squash, sausage, and apples. It can be acorn, butternut, carnival, or any other kind of winter squash. I use smoked turkey sausage, but, again, you can use any kind you like. As for apples, I often use Granny Smith, but I’ll choose Honeycrisp whenever they are in season.

And just as the ingredients vary from time to time, there are several different ways that I make this dish. Sometimes I peel and cube the squash, parboil it, and then sauté it with the apples and sausage for a quick stovetop, one pan meal.

Tonight, however, I made the squash the way my mom always fixed it: baked and stuffed. I began by baking acorn squash halves, cut side down, in a 350°F oven for 45 minutes.

While the squash was baking, I peeled, cored, and chopped three Honeycrisp apples and cut the sausage on the diagonal. I sautéed the sausage and apples in butter with brown sugar and a bit of nutmeg.

I cooked the mixture for about 5 minutes, until the apples had softened and given up some of their liquid and the sausage had begun to color.

I put a pat of butter in each squash half, then spooned in the apple mixture and topped it with a few grinds of nutmeg and more brown sugar. (Note: I wouldn’t recommend the brown sugar on top. It’s not necessary, as the mixture is plenty sweet, and it tends to burn rather than melt.)

I returned the squash to the oven and cooked it for 25 minutes, until the squash was tender and the apples and sausage had cooked through.

This is a complete meal, which can be served directly in the squash halves or scooped out into a bowl. But don’t count on leftovers — we all polished off our squash halves. Even the extra squash and apples from the pan were gone by the time we were done.

This dish, in one form or another, will make several appearances on our table before the season is over. If you try it, I’m sure it will start showing up on your table, too.

11 Comments

  1. Alice said,

    October 31, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    looks great! have you tried baking the “stuffing” in the halves with cheese or something? that sounds like it would be … 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 31, 2011 at 9:40 pm

      I’ve only done savory fillings with pumpkin. When it comes to squash, my family would rebel if I did anything other than sausage, apples, and brown sugar!

  2. October 31, 2011 at 6:43 am

    […] FFwDers over at Of Cabbages & King Cakes recently posted an absolutely delicious recipe for Squash baked with Sausage & Apples which I served to rave reviews. I used bratwurst for the sausage and a hokkaido pumpkin and the […]

  3. September 28, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    That looks delicious! I was just looking for acorn squash here the other day, it is sadly not so easy to come by. Lots of other options, but I do like acorn squash. I still may give this a try though.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2011 at 6:57 pm

      We often use buttenut, but I’m rather fond of acorn squash, too. I need to stock up for the winter.

      • October 8, 2011 at 11:05 am

        Just to let you know, we made this recipe last night for dinner and it was delicious! My husband and I both really enjoyed it. I couldn’t find any acorn squash, but a little hokkaido pumpkin made a great substitute. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      • gaaarp said,

        October 8, 2011 at 11:58 am

        Thanks, Rose! I’m so glad you and your husband enjoyed it. I wish I could mail a few Acorn squash to you. It sounds like you found a good substitute.

  4. Kayte said,

    September 27, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Oh how fun to get a little squash presented to you at a dinner. I vote for this when I visit…this looks really really good.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 27, 2011 at 10:29 pm

      If you come anytime in the Fall or even Winter, there’s a good chance it’s what you’ll get.

      That, and fish pie.

  5. Abby said,

    September 26, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    How did you know that we received an entire bag of squash (including all of the varieties you listed) in our CSA box this afternoon AND hubby just came back from the store with a giant bag of honeycrisps, which were on sale tonight?! This is going on the menu for this week!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 26, 2011 at 10:27 pm

      Let me know what you think. My wife prefers the cubed and sauteed squash, but this was easier for a worknight.


Leave a Reply

