Chicken Breasts Diable {AMFT}

If I’m ever tormented by a devil, I want it to be a French one. With a name like chicken breasts diable, I expected a firy dish with a spicy kick. In fact, I was afraid that I might have to tone it down a bit for the kids.

So I had to laugh when I read the recipe (on page 217 of Around My French Table) and realized that the “fire” in the dish came from Dijon mustard, and only 3 tablespoons for 4 servings, at that. In addition to the chicken breasts and Dijon, the recipe called for butter, olive oil, shallot, garlic, white wine, cream, Worcestershire, salt, and pepper.

This was a simple dish that came together quickly. My chicken breasts were quite thick, and even though I pounded them a bit, they took longer to cook than the recipe called for. After browning the chicken on both sides, I put them in a baking dish and slid them into the oven while I made the sauce in the pan. Then I poured the sauce over the chicken and finished baking it in the oven.

I served the chicken with Garlicky Crumb-coated Broccoli and mashed sweet potatoes.

This was an amazing dish. Spicy (not hot) and very flavorful. Even my Dad, who doesn’t like spicy food, loved it.

Maybe he was French in a previous life.

24 Comments

  1. Tasty Mayhem said,

    October 1, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    looks great. my mom always made this with pork loin and potatoes. Love how yours turned out. cant wait to try it.

  2. October 1, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Just ran across this the other day when flipping through the book and had earmarked it for a future try. Looks great – would you add more dijon?

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      I thought the Dijon was perfect. If you want more spice, you could add a bit of cayenne. When I make it again, I don’t think I’ll change a thing.

  3. October 1, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    I was surprised to see this dish in the book as it was my go-to dish for years and years. I thought my mom made it up. lol. Thanks for reminding me of it!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2011 at 12:49 pm

      Maybe Dorie borrowed it from your mom!

  4. Cher said,

    October 1, 2011 at 9:38 am

    Hmmm – this sounds really good, but I am a bit disappointed that the heat is only a bit of mustard. I guess I would expect a more fiery kick!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2011 at 4:29 pm

      I don’t think Dorie would mind if you kicked it up with a bit of cayenne.

  5. betsy said,

    September 30, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    I hadn’t noticed this recipe in the book. I’m glad you went off-script so I know about it now!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2011 at 4:28 pm

      Give it a try! Once I saw this recipe, I knew I couldn’t wait for the group to get to it.

  6. SoupAddict said,

    September 30, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    Mmm … that cream sauce sounds amazing! Good substitution for the week!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      Thanks. It was a big hit here.

  7. Liz said,

    September 30, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Oh, yum!! This looks fabulous….and I hope it makes our rotation soon!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 30, 2011 at 6:27 pm

      I got tired of waiting for it, so o went “off-script”!

  8. Teresa said,

    September 30, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    This looks like a good recipe – I have a feeling I might make it a few times before it comes up in the group rotation. Thanks for the preview!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      This was definitely only the first of many times I will make it!

  9. Eileen said,

    September 30, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    I guess I never gave that recipe a good read. I assumed it was spicy-hot. That’s funny that it’s from dijon. I’m not a huge mustard fan, so I don’t know how I’d feel about this dish, but I’ll troop through and make it, whenever it comes up with the group. Good to know what we’re in for, though!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      The recipe gives a range for the mustard. I’m sure if you stick to the low end, it won’t be too mustardy.

  10. Abby said,

    September 30, 2011 at 9:37 am

    Yum! I would love that plate of food for dinner tonight. I really need to pick up AMFT one of these days.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2011 at 4:25 pm

      Yes, you do! It’s one of my favorite cookbooks. Unfortunately, I don’t have the connections to score you a free copy. :-0

  11. September 30, 2011 at 9:12 am

    These look beautiful. I’m no fan of pounding chicken, so I may have to use a different cut when the time comes for this recipe!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 30, 2011 at 9:25 am

      I think you can get away without pounding. You just may need to finish it off in the oven.

  12. Kayte said,

    September 30, 2011 at 8:27 am

    These were great, and fun making them with you on the spur of the moment! I know I have my photos ready to go on this one, I have to dig to find them and get it posted on Tuesday. Definitely a repeat here, and I used my really spicy French mustard for it, so we loved, loved, loved that…current count=17 bottles of various mustards in our frig. We might be a bit nuts over mustard here, might. Yours look really great, I’m not good at pounding either, I just hate whacking away at things.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 30, 2011 at 8:45 am

      The issue I had with the pounding was that the recipe said “lightly pounded”, which to me meant the thick part of the breast should be flattened just a little bit. I didn’t read it as calling for paillard; although in retrospect, I think they may have needed to have been almost that thin to cook in the allotted time. No matter, they finished perfectly in the oven.

      We actually do a lot of recipes where you put some sort of sauce on chicken breasts and then bake them in the oven. I may just adapt this recipe to do it that way next time. M helps get dinner started before I get home a lot of nights, and that would be easier for her.


Leave a Reply

