Danish Cheese Pockets {ModBak}

This week’s Modern Baker Mondays recipe is a version of Danish cheese pockets. I recently made the classic version from Bake!, and I was interested to see how these would compare. The Modern Baker version uses puff pastry, rather than a traditional Danish pastry. And the Danish are baked in a muffin tin, which helps them hold their shape.

I began by rolling puff pastry in sugar, just like when I made elephant ears. Once the dough was the correct size and shape, I chilled it while I made the filling, which consisted of cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, lemon zest, and egg yolks.

To form the pastries, I cut the dough into squares a few inches bigger than the muffin cups. I pressed the dough into the cups, letting the corners drape to the outside of the cup. I filled each Danish with cream cheese filling, then folded in the corners so they overlapped.

I baked the Danish in a 375-degree oven for about 20 minutes, until the pastry was baked through, the filling set, and the sugar nicely caramelized.

These Danish were really delicious, and would be especially attractive to someone who is nervous about shaping a classic Danish. Tastewise, they were fine; but not as good as the traditional Danish from Nick’s other recipe.

6 Comments

  1. Melanie said,

    October 4, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Both of the danish cheese pockets look delicious!! I can see there would be more carmelization on the ones in the muffin cups where the dough is touching the sides of the cups. I think the danish from the classic recipe are prettier. I love cherry filling in anything, so I would vote to make those cherry ones with the classic recipe!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 4, 2011 at 9:14 am

      In writing this post, I realized that I need to make the other ones again!

  2. Margaret said,

    October 4, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Both were good, and I liked them both, but I liked these better than the BAKE! ones. Different strokes I guess. That first pic says it all.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 4, 2011 at 8:27 am

      I did love the caramelization on these, but I liked the filling better on the other ones. Maybe the cherry filling I used on some of the Bake! ones swayed my vote.

  3. Kayte said,

    October 3, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    Those look wonderful, I love the process photos, makes it all seem rather do-able as I’m not about fussing and this way of shaping it all appeals greatly to me. Nice job.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 3, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      They were very easy to shape, although I didn’t really find the traditional ones that difficult, either. These stayed together better, though.


Leave a Reply

