Stuffed Pumpkin {FFwD} {Pumpkin Dinner} {Recipe}

My love of all things pumpkin is well known, so I don’t think anyone was surprised when I suggested a pumpkin dinner roundup, where everyone would make a different pumpkin recipe and post them all on the same day.

My contribution was this side dish, which I adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s recipe. I made it the other night for dinner.

Don’t think big jack-o’-lantern pumpkin when you go to make this dish. A 2 1/2 pound pumpkin is pretty small and can be found with the “baking pumpkins” at the grocery store.

Preparing it for baking, however, is a lot like carving a pumpkin.

Once the goop is removed, it’s just a matter of filling it with stuffing and pouring on some spiced cream.

Then you put the lid back on and slide it into the oven for a bit.

The skin will darken and toughen up while the insides get bubbly and delicious.

Stuffed Pumpkin

(adapted from Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan)

 Ingredients 

  • 2 1/2 pound pumpkin
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 4-5 thin slices stale bread, crusts removed and cut into ½-inch cubes
  • 2 ounces each Gruyère and Emmenthal cheeses, cut into ½-inch cubes
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 2-3 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

 Directions 

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F.
  2. Cut the top off the pumpkin jack-o’-lantern style and remove pulp and seeds. Discard seeds or save for roasting. Season the inside of the pumpkin generously with salt and pepper. Place the pumpkin in a round baking dish, preferably one that’s just slightly larger than the pumpkin.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine bread, cheeses, garlic, and thyme. Season with a little salt and lots of pepper and toss well. Spoon filling into pumpkin and pack lightly. The pumpkin should be filled to the top but not overflowing.
  4. Stir together cream and nutmeg, then pour over filling in pumpkin. Put the pumpkin top on the pumpkin.
  5. Bake for 1 hour. Remove lid and continue baking for about 30 minutes, until the filling is bubbly and the top nicely toasted.
  6. To serve, carefully (it will be very hot) reach inside the pumpkin with a large spoon and scrape the cooked pumpkin meat free from the sides. Mix the pumpkin with the stuffing and replace the lid. Carry the pumpkin in the baking dish to the table. When ready to serve, remove the lid and spoon directly from the pumpkin.

 Yields 4-5 side dish servings

You’ll note that I sliced the pumpkin rather than mixing in the flesh like in the recipe. I didn’t care for it sliced as well. The skin was very dry and leathery, and it was difficult to cut, even with a good, sharp knife. And we were left to deal with it on the plate while eating. I made a note to mix it together inside the pumpkin next time.

This was such a delicious dish. I couldn’t wait to make it again. So, a few weeks later I decided to bake another pumpkin. My parents were in town, and I thought I would switch things up by replacing the bread cubes with rice and adding frozen peas.

We put the whole pumpkin on the table and served it by scooping out the filling, along with some of the pumpkin flesh. It was so good, we all agreed that we would add it to our Thanksgiving menu this year.

In addition to the pumpkin dinner roundup, this post is also part of French Fridays with Dorie.

44 Comments

  1. November 6, 2011 at 7:00 am

    […] with a few other recipes I wanted to try out for possible inclusion on the Thanksgiving table (stuffed pumpkin with rice and peas; Indiana persimmon pudding; and stuffing made with buttermilk cottage dill bread). It was without […]

  2. Tricia S. said,

    November 1, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Nana and I are big pumpkins fans as well, but usually tend toward the sweeter dishes. It was fun to make a savory one this time and also great to have all the options available for the stuffing. Almost overwhelming in fact- reason enough to come back and make it again. Love the size of your cute little pumpkin !

    • gaaarp said,

      November 1, 2011 at 9:09 pm

      Thanks! I made this again for dinner tonight, this time with rice and peas. It was completely different than the first time, but equally delicious. In fact, I decided that I’m going to add it to the Thanksgiving menu this year.

  3. October 31, 2011 at 8:46 am

    We loved this one too and I think the smaller little individual servings are probably easier for serving since I was able to get a good mix of pumpkin and stuffing in each bite without fighting with the skin.

    Hope you don’t mind but I loved your earlier stuffed squash so much that I just had to mention it in my stuffed pumpkin post.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 31, 2011 at 5:48 pm

      Thanks, I’m flattered.

  4. Cher said,

    October 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    I don’t think I could ever get sick of pumpkins. This is a great way to have it on the savory side – although, I am trying to think up a way this could cross over into dessert territory as well… Maybe a bread pudding type filling with apples or something. hmmmmm

    • gaaarp said,

      October 29, 2011 at 8:32 pm

      I was thinking of the same thing. Someone else referred to the filling as “savory bread pudding”, which got me thinking you could do this as a dessert with real bread pudding for the filling.

  5. October 29, 2011 at 12:59 am

    Great Post! I love pumpkin and so does my dog – this is a surefire winner in our house!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 29, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      Funny that you wrote that about your dog. I was just cleaning pumpkin seeds, and my beagle was sitting right there at attention, waiting for me to drop some pulp to him!

  6. Alice said,

    October 29, 2011 at 12:16 am

    Sounds like it would be more fun to serve it out of the pumpkin, but once all the stuffing has been mixed with the flesh 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 29, 2011 at 12:18 am

      The vegetable soup that I used to make was served out of the pumpkin, too. But I didn’t mix in the pumpkin flesh; I just scraped some out with each serving.

  7. Krissy said,

    October 28, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    I like how you use the pumpkin as a mixing bowl. Your little pumpkin is so cute…just right for 1 or 2 to enjoy. Nice post.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      It was just perfect for two, with a tad left over for the kids to try.

  8. October 28, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Traveling this week so couldn’t make it but but appreciate the photos as I think I’ll do this once the rains kick in around here. Any kind of savory pumpkin dish I love and this really looks great!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2011 at 10:47 pm

      Thanks. It’s definitely one worth making and playing around with, too.

  9. Eileen said,

    October 28, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    I’m so in love with this recipe. I want to eat everyone’s version of it!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      If I keep buying pie pumpkins everytime I see them, I’ll be making lots of versions of this recipe!

  10. Trix said,

    October 28, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Funny, I liked mine sliced but the more of these pumpkin posts I see the more I want to try it all musehd up. Cute pumpkin!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      Thanks. It was delicious either way.

  11. SoupAddict said,

    October 28, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I think you’re right on about the no-slicing. Leaving it in the pumpkin (assuming the pumpkin didn’t wither in the oven – it usually doesn’t) lets it act as a serving bowl. Just spoon it out. (And, if you don’t fill it all the way to the top, you’ll have some stirring-scraping wiggle-room after baking.) Good stuff!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2011 at 9:13 pm

      I love the idea of serving it right out of the pumpkin at the table. I think if I make this for Thanksgiving, I’ll have to make 2 or 3 of them so everyone has one within arm’s reach.

  12. October 28, 2011 at 10:38 am

    I’m jealous of everyone who found smaller pumpkins like yours. The smallest one at the supermarket clocked in at a little over five pounds! Great job, GAARP!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2011 at 9:11 pm

      Thanks. I bought two more pumpkins today. They were outside the store, so there wasn’t a scale. I was surprised when I got home and they were much larger than the one I already had.

  13. Elin said,

    October 28, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Yours look delicious 🙂 I baked mine with Japanese pumpkin and it tasted good too. Great for thanksgiving dinner and I am sure many will love it 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2011 at 9:10 pm

      I’m actually making pre-Thanksgiving this weekend, as I want to try out new turkey and stuffing recipes. I’m going to make this again, too, with slightly different filling.

  14. Pamela said,

    October 23, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Oh, this looks so good!! Wish I had some now. 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 23, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      I was thinking the same thing, so I bought another pumpkin at the store the other day.

  15. October 16, 2011 at 8:13 am

    […] Dinner Roundup that I hosted last week. I had already made and blogged my recipe for that event, Stuffed Pumpkin. But I got the idea to try a cornbread featuring pumpkin, and I thought about changing my Pumpkin […]

  16. October 12, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    […] My contribution was another side dish (although I could easily eat this as a complete meal): Stuffed Pumpkin. […]

  17. nancy/n.o.e. said,

    October 12, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    I’ve wanted to make this recipe since I got Dorie’s book a year ago. Maybe this Fall… As for slicing the pumpkin, it seems like a good idea – nothing ventured, nothing gained, right? I finally got my soup posted; sorry to be the straggler.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 12, 2011 at 7:25 pm

      Not a problem – just glad you got in on the fun.

      The picture in the book shows it sliced, but in the recipe she says she prefers the scoop, mix, and serve method.

  18. Melanie said,

    October 10, 2011 at 7:58 am

    I’m very intrigued by this recipe. I’ve never baked a pumpkin before with stuff in it already. Was this your first time? Great pictures. I’m so tempted to try this, because it does sound good. So the idea is that you’re supposed to spoon some of the filling out and place a little into each person’s bowl right? I’ll bet it smelled good after coming out of the oven. It sure is pretty to look at!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 10, 2011 at 10:34 am

      If you mix it all in the pumpkin, then you just spoon some onto each plate. I have another recipe that cooks in a pumpkin. It’s a vegetable soup.

  19. Heather said,

    October 9, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    To be perfectly honest, despite my participation in the Pumpkin Round-up, I’m not a big pumpkin fan myself. (I NEVER partake in the pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving, which incidentally is tomorrow for us Canadians. I always ensure there is an alternative dessert, even when I’m not hosting the dinner.) However, I have to say that this recipe intrigues me, I love the cheeses used, and I can imagine myself diving into this. Great pictures, truly mouth-watering, even for this non-pumpkin fan.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 9, 2011 at 1:32 pm

      I think you and Kayte are closet pumpkin lovers. lol We’ll turn you both to the orange side yet.

      Happy Thanksgiving, eh? What are the traditional foods for the holiday north of the border, other than pumpkin pie?

      • Heather said,

        October 10, 2011 at 11:38 am

        LOL. Thanks. Our traditional foods up here on the north side of the border are exactly the same as yours. (Although this year we actually tried a turducken instead of the usual turkey. It was actually pretty good!) I’m coming around on the pumpkin but haven’t made enough progress to eat pumpkin pie. That’s just too ‘in-your-face’ pumpkin. : )

  20. Peggy said,

    October 9, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Your stuffed pumpkin looks fabulous and puts mine to shame. I just did my first one to see what it was like. I have a few ideas to do another one. And I need a bigger one next time. I’m so glad you posted this so I could see what it is really supposed to look like. And I realized from reading yours that I forgot to put the cheese in mine!! Great job on yours.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 9, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      Thanks. It was a fairly staightforward recipe (although I suppose forgetting the cheese could be a problem!).

  21. Di said,

    October 9, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I’m intrigued by this one, but I’m not sure I’d like the texture. (I have issues.) I’m so glad you invited us all for the pumpkin “dinner,” though. I can’t wait to see what everyone else made. (And I’ll have my brioche up later today–it’s very slow going on the final proof…)

    • gaaarp said,

      October 9, 2011 at 12:22 pm

      I’ve really been enjoying reading everyone’s posts and perusing all their pictures to pick one for the roundup. We’ve got some great recipes so far, and I’m looking forward to reading the rest (including yours!).

  22. Abby said,

    October 9, 2011 at 9:43 am

    That looks really tasty and really fancy. I’m so excited to get all of these good recipes for all of my little pumpkins and squashes. Thank you so much for hosting!! And I second Kayte’s idea for a Thanksgiving Dinner roundup! 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 9, 2011 at 12:19 pm

      Thanks. This is a new recipe for me, but I knew I wanted to make something served in a pumpkin. I used to make a vegetable soup served in a pumpkin tureen. I’ll have to see if I can find that recipe.

  23. Kayte said,

    October 9, 2011 at 8:29 am

    Great process photos…and I love the tips you give as I would have sliced it as well thinking that would have worked nicely. It certainly is a show stopper in looks alone. I do love cheese a whole lot, might have to make this one after all. I’m slowing considering revisiting my dislike of pumpkin and coming at it with new resolve. Thanks for thinking up the Pumpkin Dinner Roundup….now, what shall I make for the Thanksgiving Dinner Roundup? I know…the Persimmon Pudding from the Thanksgiving book, after all, I am from Indiana and all…you are doing a Thanksgiving Dinner RoundUp, right? 😉

    • gaaarp said,

      October 9, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      Get thee behind me, Satan! OK, *maybe* I’ll host a Thanksgiving roundup. I’m still looking for persimmon pulp so I can try the pudding.


Leave a Reply

