Pumpkin Cornbread {Recipe} {Autumn Roundup}

When my friend Di announced that she was hosting an Autumn baking roundup, I signed on right away. This is my favorite time of year, and I love the flavors of the season. I wasn’t sure what I would make (the theme is “Handmade Loaves”), but I knew I’d find something appropriate to the Fall weather.

I actually came up with this recipe the other night when I was gearing up for the Pumpkin Dinner Roundup that I hosted last week. I had already made and blogged my recipe for that event, Stuffed Pumpkin. But I got the idea to try a cornbread featuring pumpkin, and I thought about changing my Pumpkin Roundup post if it worked out as planned. That’s when I remembered Di’s roundup and decided to submit this recipe for that event.

Like most cornbread recipes, this one begins by mixing the wet and dry ingredients separately, then combining them and mixing briefly before spreading in a pan.

Pumpkin Cornbread

 Ingredients 

  • 1 ½ cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ cups cornmeal
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon Kosher salt
  • ½ cup packed light brown sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • pinch ground cloves
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups pumpkin puree
  • 6 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup

 Directions 

  1. Preheat oven to 375˚F. Grease 8×11 ½-inch pan with spray oil.
  2. Whisk together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, salt, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves in large bowl until well mixed.
  3. In medium bowl, whisk eggs, then add pumpkin, butter, and maple syrup and mix well.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix just until evenly moistened. Spread batter in pan and smooth top.
  5. Bake cornbread for 25-30 minutes, until firm to touch and cake tester inserted in middle comes out clean.

Yields 8-10 servings.

This was a delicious cornbread, and paired especially well with chili. I ate it warm on the day it was baked, and it had a definite pumpkin flavor. It reminded me of pumpkin bread, although not as sweet. I tried more the next morning and was surprised to find that at room temperature it tasted more like a traditional cornbread. I could hardly taste the pumpkin.

So, warm or room temperature, this is a great cornbread. And perfect for a cool Fall day.

25 Comments

  1. Kathy said,

    October 20, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    This looks absolutely wonderful! I’m going to have to get some pumpkin cooked up so I can start making some of the wonderful pumpkin things I’ve been seeing. Pumpkin and cornmeal…what a great combination!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 20, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      Thanks. I hope you like it!

  2. Kayte said,

    October 18, 2011 at 10:39 am

    This looks really good…I think I might have to try this one and see for myself, right? You certainly make a good case for it and I am in the mood to expand my pumpkin recipe lineup (which so far includes pumpkin pie and pumpkin cookies with cream cheese middles)…and I know Mark would love this if it tastes like pumpkin. I probably need to thank you in advance.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 18, 2011 at 11:18 am

      You should try Di’s pumpkin brioche. It’s delicious and not at all pumpkiny.

  3. Hanaa said,

    October 17, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    Yum!!! I bet it baked up nice and moist too. What a creative mind you have :o)

    • gaaarp said,

      October 17, 2011 at 7:50 pm

      Thanks! I can be quite creative when it comes to finding ways to sneak pumpkin into things, My pumpkin brioche loaves are in the oven right now!

  4. Peggy said,

    October 16, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I would love to have a slice of this and a bowl of chili tonight for my dinner. I’ll have to try it soon. I just love pumpkin in the fall. It just looks so good!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 16, 2011 at 7:36 pm

      We were supposed to have a pumpkin chili recipe in the Pumpkin Dinner Roundup, but it didn’t materialize. Still hoping to find a recipe for that.

  5. October 16, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    What a nice twist on cornbread! That looks super-delicious and moist. I bet it goes great with chili, too!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 16, 2011 at 6:18 pm

      It was really delicious with chili. Although I have to say, it wasn’t half bad for breakfast, either!

  6. mike said,

    October 16, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Funny, but I’ve never thought of pairing those two – but they actually sound quite good! Cornbread and pumpkin are perfect choices for this time of year. So odd about the flavor dissipating – good reason to eat right away!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 16, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      Unless, like some of my friends, you don’t like the strong pumpkin flavor (I know, they’re a strange lot).

  7. Mary said,

    October 16, 2011 at 11:28 am

    I just had pumpkin pancakes for breakfast! Fall is in the air! Great recipe.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 16, 2011 at 11:41 am

      Thanks! I just saw a recipe for pumpkin pancakes made with Bisquick. I’m hoping to try them one of these days.

  8. Elaine said,

    October 16, 2011 at 11:09 am

    I’ve been on a pumpkin kick myself lately and will definitely try this recipe! I love pumpkin and cornbread so combining the flavors sounds wonderful to me.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 16, 2011 at 11:13 am

      Each year for the past several years the news has reported a “pumpkin shortage”. I’m beginning to think it’s a marketing ploy by the pumpkin farmers, as there always seems to be a run on it when the reports come out, but soon after that, the shelves are restocked. It never really impacts me, as I always keep 10-12 cans of pumpkin puree in the larder.

  9. October 16, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Great take on a classic!

  10. Di said,

    October 16, 2011 at 8:53 am

    This cornbread is such a wonderful color! I definitely want to make it soon–I love cornbread. =)

    • gaaarp said,

      October 16, 2011 at 9:01 am

      I think even Kayte could get behind the addition of pumpkin to this cornbread. It’s not overly pumpkiny, but it adds color, texture, and, of course, nutrition!

  11. Abby said,

    October 16, 2011 at 8:27 am

    I swear, you have the BEST timing! I’m making chili for dinner tonight; perfect time to try a new cornbread recipe, especially one that will use up some of my pumpkin puree. Yay! 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 16, 2011 at 8:39 am

      Chili was my motivation for making this recipe, too. I hope you like it!

      • Abby said,

        October 16, 2011 at 7:53 pm

        We loved it! I baked a full recipe in an 8×8 pan, so it took about 40 minutes to bake through, but it made these tall gorgeous pieces. The flavor was awesome!


Leave a Reply

