Ox Tongues {Bake!}

No, this isn’t a recipe for oxtail stew from the other end. Ox tongues are pastries, similar to elephant ears or palmiers, made by rolling puff pastry in sugar and baking until the sugar caramelizes.

The shape is what sets these pastries apart from their counterparts, and is also where they get their name. You begin by rolling out puff pastry dough, then cutting it into rounds. After chilling the rounds, you dredge the rounds in sugar, then roll them out in to an oblong shape, rather like an  ox’s tongue (use your imagination here, people!).

These were really good. They were almost more like a little cookie than elephant ears, which have layers of sugared pastry, but the taste was about the same.

I chose these Ox Tongues as my pick for our informal Bake! group, hosted by Kayte. I made them quite a while ago, but didn’t get around to posting them, as I somehow lost my photos. I thought I might make them again before time to post the recipe, but no such luck.

You’ll have to trust me that they were delicious and looked really good. And only slightly resembled an ox’s tongue.

4 Comments

  1. Hanaa said,

    October 20, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Funny post, Phyl. I haven’t made them but from your description they sound like a childhood favorite, called Kattetongen (which translated from Dutch means “cat tongues” – go figure). Google it and see if they resemble your ox tongues 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 20, 2011 at 8:05 pm

      They actually look a lot different. They seem to be a cookie dough lightened with egg whites. There’s nothing light about ox tongues, made with puff pastry and loads of sugar!

  2. Kayte said,

    October 19, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Guess I will have to make these soon and see how I do with them. Calling them Ox Tongues does not endear me to them somehow…maybe those years on a farm on steer butchering days when I really did have to see ox tongues of the beef variety…my job was to wrap it in freezer paper and label and date it. I always put The Clacker with the date. Silly girl, I know. Anyway, I guess I should make these to erase those prior photos in my brain. I’m sure yours were delightful as what can be wrong with sugar and butter?

    • gaaarp said,

      October 19, 2011 at 10:27 pm

      Call them “surfboards” if that will make it more palatable. That’s kind of what they look like, anyway.


Leave a Reply

