Blini with Smoked Salmon and Crème Fraîche {FFwD}

This dish was the French Fridays with Dorie recipe a few weeks ago. I didn’t make it then, as I thought no one else in the house would eat it. I waited a few weeks until my parents were going to be in town, as I knew at least Dad would appreciate it.

I’ve never made blini before, and I was surprised to find that they were really just little pancakes made with buckwheat flour.

While the blini were cooking, I gathered the remaining ingredients: smoked salmon, caviar, fresh tarragon (the recipe called for dill, but I used what I had), and homemade crème fraîche.

Once the blini were cooked, it was just a matter of assembling everything.

To my great surprise, the girls appeared while the blini were on the griddle and announced that they wanted to try them. A left the caviar off hers, but she and M ate three or four blini each before Dad even made it to the kitchen to try one.

This is a fun, somewhat fancy appetizer. It would be great to serve with cocktails or at the start of a dinner party. It’s impressive, but not as stuffy as you might imagine. Heck, it’s even great for kids!

9 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    November 1, 2011 at 6:48 am

    Yours look so wonderful! I’m probably going to make these sooner or later, it just seems like I need an occasion to present this sort of thing, but I really like the idea of you and your family gathered in the kitchen just eating them together and enjoying the process and the result in such an informal and fun way. We learn from those around us. Great process photos.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 1, 2011 at 2:38 pm

      Thanks. I love “kitchen suppers”, where everyone is sort of gathered around, assembling and eating food together. We do that with friends sometimes. Not often enough.

  2. Cher said,

    October 27, 2011 at 11:22 am

    This was a fairly easy brunch type item. I think the salmon used ultimately makes or breaks this dish.
    Glad you got everyone to try them out.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 27, 2011 at 5:54 pm

      I agree about the salmon. Fortunately, the recipe calls for such a small amount that you can splurge on quality fish.

  3. Alice said,

    October 26, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    We ate the leftover batter, about half the recipe’s worth and made just big ole pancakes out of them, dressed them up with the salmon, creme fraiche and dill and eat them for breakfast. It was a nice change from the syrup-laden sunday breakfast 🙂 Glad your girls liked them, its always nice when they do!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 26, 2011 at 9:51 pm

      That sounds like a perfect Sunday breakfast/brunch. Maybe a mimosa to wash it down.

  4. October 26, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I still haven’t gotten to these but then I’ve made them many times before..usually for a new years day champagne brunch. These look great!! I’ll have to do them….New Years is around the corner after all.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 26, 2011 at 9:12 pm

      They would be perfect for New Year’s brunch. Of course, they were great for a before dinner weeknight snack, too!


Leave a Reply

