Truffle Butter {Recipe}

We’re having Thanksgiving dinner at my house this year, so I’m responsible for the turkey. And I’m hosting a virtual Thanksgiving Dinner Roundup for some of my friends this weekend, so I needed to try out a turkey recipe that would fit into the Roundup and, hopefully, be worth repeating on Thanksgiving Day.

I found a recipe by Ina Garten that looked really delicious. In fact, I probably would have tried this recipe even if I didn’t need it for the Roundup and Thanksgiving. You’ll have to wait until Sunday to see my turkey post, but I can tell you that one of the key ingredients is truffle butter.

I’m sure truffle butter is easy to find in the Hamptons, where Ina lives. In Stow, Ohio — not so much. I checked several stores before I decided to try making my own. After surfing the ‘Net and finding a number of different methods for making it, I came up with this recipe. It’s simple, and the results are wonderful.

Truffle Butter (makes 4 ounces)

Ingredients

  • One stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons white truffle oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon truffle salt, or Kosher salt

Directions

  1. Mix butter, oil, and salt in a small bowl.
  2. Taste for salt, adding up to another 1/2 teaspoon, if needed.
  3. Cover and leave at room temperature if you are going to use within a day or two. Refrigerate or freeze for longer storage.

A word of warning: when you taste the butter, you may find yourself wanting to eat it by the spoonful. It’s that good.

Once you discover how easy and delicious this butter is, you’re sure to find many uses for it. And if you do, I’d love to read about them in the Comments section below.

7 Comments

  1. dulceshome said,

    November 11, 2011 at 10:32 am

    That looks so amazing! And happily I have all of that stuff (don’t you love the truffle salt??). Thanks for the idea!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      November 11, 2011 at 10:40 am

      I’ve been using truffle salt for quite a while now. And since I made this recipe, I keep finding more and more uses for the oil, too. I rubbed it on duck legs last night for confit. Another eat-at-the-counter dish!

  2. November 6, 2011 at 7:00 am

    […] The unique thing about this recipe, and what immediately caught my eye, is the use of truffle butter to season the turkey and keep it moist. I checked several local stores but didn’t find it. I knew I could probably find some at Whole Paycheck, but the closest one is about 45 minutes away. So I did what I always do in these situations: I made my own truffle butter. […]

  3. Cher said,

    November 4, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Oh – you are killing me. I have a little precious jar of truffle oil (which I procured on my last trip to NYC) that I dole out by the dropful. I am guessing another trip to the city would be required to scrounge up the truffle salt.
    I can’t even imagine what you did to that turkey…

    • gaaarp said,

      November 4, 2011 at 5:07 pm

      I think it would be fine without the truffle salt, and it’s definitely worth spending 2 teaspoons of truffle oil.

      • Cher said,

        November 20, 2011 at 3:21 pm

        Butter is warming up to room temperature… Making this tonight for Thursday’s turkey. I am doubling the recipe, because I am SURE I will think of other uses…

        • gaaarp said,

          November 20, 2011 at 5:03 pm

          I made cultured butter this weekend (recipe is on the blog). Some of it is salted and packed in ramekins for the Thanksgiving table; some unsalted for baking; and, of course, some mixed with truffle oil and truffle salt for the turkey on Thursday!


Leave a Reply

