Smoked Salmon Mille-feuilles {ModBak}

Although we have launched headlong into the Cookies, Bars & Biscotti section of the Modern Baker Challenge, I still have a few blog posts to finish up in the Puff Pastries section, including this one. I made this recipe quite some time ago; it has just taken me until now to upload the pictures and post it.

This is a rich, savory hors d’oeuvre, perfect for a fancy cocktail party or as an appetizer for a dinner party. And as fancy as it looks, it’s really easy to put together.

I started with a baked puff pastry layer made using homemade puff pastry. I layered the baked pastry sheet with smoked salmon and a mixture of cream cheese, butter, and chives.

Having pre-baked the puff pasty layer and mixed the cream cheese, here’s how easy it was to assemble:

This was really delicious. The salty, smokey salmon played well against the rich puff pastry and filling. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to cut the portions smaller, as the pastry and filling are really rich. Of course, that didn’t stop me from eating several of the them.

If you need an appetizer to put out with drinks at the start of a nice dinner party, this is an easy hors d’oeuvre with tons of “wow” factor. Just be sure to cut them small. And don’t put out too many of them, or your guests might not be hungry for dinner.

6 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    December 26, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Nice job…it looks really wonderful and pretty. You are so good to get all these done. I am giving myself until the New Year to get my act together, and if it doesn’t seem like that is going to happen, I will graciously bow out rather than have everyone waiting on me and me not fulfilling my posting bits. Sigh. My life is not my own right now…not sure when I can reclaim it. Keep the good thoughts going for A.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 26, 2011 at 7:26 pm

      As long as you keep Tweeting, e-mailing, and texting, we’ll let you out of your baking obligations. Oh, and you still have to host us all before you sell your house and downsize.

  2. Anne Marie said,

    December 26, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    This looks like my husband’s dream hors d’oeuvre.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 26, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      Anyone who likes smoked salmon would love this.

  3. Margaret said,

    December 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    This is one I didn’t get to. But it sure does look good!! One day!!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 26, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      I made it because it was part of the Challenge. Othewise, I probably wouldn’t have done it. But it was really good, so I’m glad I did.


Leave a Reply

