Raisin Pecan Spice Bars {ModBak}

The third recipe in the Cookies, Bars, & Biscotti section of the Modern Baker Challenge is an old-fashioned, straight from your grandmother’s oven kind of recipe. Spicy, chock full of raisins and nuts, Nick Malgieri hits the nail on the head when he describes these bars as “homey”.

I made a half recipe. We had plenty of sweets around, and I knew that since these bars had raisins in them, the girls would leave them for me. So instead of the 9 x 13-inch pan called for in the recipe, I broke out an 8 x 8-inch pan and lined it with parchment foil.

The bars have a lot of ingredients in them, but they mixed up quickly and were in the oven in just a few minutes. I baked the batter at 350°F for about 25 minutes, until it was well-risen and spongy to the touch, about like a cake.

I cooled the cake in the pan, then inverted it onto a cutting board, peeled off the parchment, and turned it right side up. I cut the cake into 2-inch bars.

These bars were so good! They had an almost gingerbread-like spiciness to them, and the raisins and pecans gave just the right amount of flavor and texture. To my surprise, the kids even tried them — and liked them!

This recipe is definitely a repeat. It’s especially perfect for the holidays or those cold Winter days when you want something homey and comforting to warm you.

9 Comments

  1. February 5, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    […] I bought a roll and put it to the test over the next several weeks. I began by using it to line a baking dish when making Pecan Spice Bars. […]

  2. Renee said,

    January 28, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Well I won’t be trying these with raisins for sure but it sounds like the rest of the bar was good too so omission shouldn’t sink them. Always nice to have a different “spice cookie type” recipe available during the holidays.

    • gaaarp said,

      January 29, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      I think they would still be really good even without the raisins.

  3. nancyo said,

    January 23, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    I baked my full recipe in two 8×8 pans – they are so good and you describe them perfectly!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 23, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks. That picture makes me want to make them again!

  4. Kayte said,

    January 23, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    They were a hit around here as well. Yours look wonderful. I am intrigued by that parchment foil liner…interesting. Do I need to get some of that and check it out?

    • gaaarp said,

      January 23, 2012 at 9:48 pm

      The jury’s still out on the parchment foil. I’m probably going to do a product review blog of it after I use it a few times. You could get some, and we could both review it.

  5. Melanie said,

    January 23, 2012 at 8:28 am

    What, they don’t like raisins?? I thought all kids liked raisins. That’s great that they liked them though. I thought this recipe sounded particularly tasty! I haven’t tried them yet, but I intend to. Good to know that a half batch works, since that’s probably what I’ll do too. They look delicious!!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 23, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      An 8×8 pan is perfect for a half batch, although to tell the truth, the next time I make these, it will be a full pan.They were too good!


Leave a Reply

