Butterscotch Chocolate Chunk Cookies {ModBak}

Come on. You know you want one of these babies.

This is the next recipe in the Cookies, Bars, & Biscotti section of the Modern Baker Challenge. I’ve bake these cookies twice already, in part because they’re so good. But also because I didn’t get any pictures the first time I made them. I went on a baking tear right before Thanksgiving, as we had lots of family coming into town. Unfortunately, I was so focused on baking that I didn’t get pictures of a lot of the stuff I made. I went ahead and posted some of the recipes without pictures, but these were such good cookies, I used the lack of photos as an excuse to make them again.

Although butterscotch is the first word in the name of these cookies, they don’t have any kind of butterscotch chips or other flavoring in them. The flavor comes from the combination of ingredients, chiefly the brown sugar. The dough also called for flour, baking soda, salt, butter, egg, and vanilla.

Oh, and chocolate. Lots and lots of chocolate.

Bittersweet and milk chocolate chunks get folded into the batter after it is mixed. Both times I made these, I was surprised by how much chocolate there is compared to the rest of the batter. The addition of the chocolate chunks almost doubles the volume of the dough. Not that I’m complaining, mind you. Having just enough cookie dough to hold together the chocolate is just fine with me.

After mixing the dough, I dropped the cookies onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment foil. I put the cookies in the oven, realized I had forgotten to take a picture of the dough on the pan, and took a quick shot of the cookies in the oven.

I baked the cookies for about 15 minutes at 350°F, per the recipe, although I think they should have come out a few minutes earlier. They didn’t burn, but they were crispier than we like them.

While the first batch of cookies was baking, M asked if we could make cookie bars with the rest of the dough, so she pressed the remaining dough into an 8×8 pan. We baked the bars for about 25 minutes, until the edges were starting to brown, but the center still looked nice and doughy. Unlike the cookies, the bars were baked perfectly.

These are really delicious cookies, with a definite butterscotch flavor. And, of course, a rich, gooey, abundance of chocolate. Even though the cookies were a bit on the crispy side, they were great for dunking in milk. And the bars were soft, crumbly perfection.

This is a recipe I will keep in mind when I want chocolate chip cookies. They are head and shoulders above your typical Toll House cookies, and not any more difficult to make.

Renee was the official blogger for this recipe for the Modern Baker Challenge. Check out her blog to see what she thought of them. And if you’d like to join the Challenge, you can jump in any time.

11 Comments

  1. Renee said,

    February 22, 2012 at 10:55 am

    I fantastic cookie! Hmmm…. maybe I’ll pop a batch in later today!

  2. Kayte said,

    February 14, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Oh, yes, I definitely want one of these…lol. Seriously now, the guys here would really LOVE to have these. Great idea for bars and the additional tips and add-ins, etc. Wonderful job with this recipe. I think cookies are one of your specialties, they all turn out so well for you.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 15, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      Cookies are basically foolproof; maybe that’s why I excel at them!

  3. February 13, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    You are right…I totally want these cookies. NOW! Next timi need chocolate chip cookies, these will be the ones. Fantastic!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 15, 2012 at 6:49 pm

      Definitiely worth a try. They take chocolate chips to a whole new level!

  4. Margaret said,

    February 13, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    O what a good idea to make bars. And to add cinnamon to some. I have to try them this way. Thought of adding PB chips, but…..

    • gaaarp said,

      February 13, 2012 at 8:32 pm

      PB chips would be great, too.

  5. nancyo said,

    February 13, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    It really was astonishing how much chocolate was in these, but the recipe still worked. I thought they were better the second day. Your picture won’t load on this browser, so I’m imagining how good they look!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 13, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      I’m all for pushing the chocolate envelope!

  6. Abby said,

    February 13, 2012 at 10:30 am

    Yummy. And now I must make these again so I can try the cookie bar idea. Brilliant!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 13, 2012 at 5:36 pm

      I know. Reading this post makes *me* want to make them again, too!


Leave a Reply

