Lemon & Almond Tuiles {ModBak}

The next recipe in the Cookies, Bars & Biscotti section of the Modern Baker Challenge is a classic French cookie with a bit of classic French fussiness to it. In case you’re wondering, tuile is pronounced “tweel” (rhymes with “feel”).

Or in my case, rhymes with “fail”.

I love my Roul’Pat for so many things. Nothing sticks to it. It’s reusable and prevents wasting parchment paper. It keeps pans clean and wipes right off.

Unfortunately, it also keeps tuiles from spreading when they bake.

The tuiles are supposed to spread paper-thin in the oven. Then when you take them out, you drape them over a cylindrical form so they take on a Pringle-like shape.

As you can see, my tuiles didn’t spread. At all.

So, what did I do with this colossal tuile failure?

I told my family they were lemon almond cookies. And they loved them.

I might try these again someday, this time on buttered parchment instead of Roul’Pat. Although to be honest, the thought of shaping all those cookies when they come of the oven doesn’t thrill me. And my family was right — they tasted fine the way they were.

7 Comments

  1. Margaret said,

    March 13, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    We always say – it’s the taste that counts…..

    I wanna make these just to see if mine spread. It may be the recipe!!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 13, 2012 at 8:04 pm

      You should definitely try them and report back!

  2. March 12, 2012 at 8:08 am

    […] was hopeful that this week’s Modern Baker Challenge cookie would make up for the tuile disaster and the fussy thumbprint cookies. Since it’s a shortbread, I knew it would at least be fairly […]

  3. Kayte said,

    March 2, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Haven’t read the recipe but my others of this kind have you spread them in a circle really thin before going into the oven…it’s a very wet batter and easy to do. I do them on my Silpat all the time and they work great. Hmmmm…need to make these and figure out how you got this cookie instead. I do think they look delicious just as they are in your photo, however, and the flavor sounds marvelous.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 3, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      This isn’t an especially wet dough, and you drop it by teaspoonfuls on the pan. It’s supposed to spread on its own.

  4. Abby said,

    February 27, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Well, to be honest, they sound and look great just the way they are! 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      February 27, 2012 at 7:26 pm

      Thanks. They were really good, and I don’t know that I missed out on anything by not shaping them.


Leave a Reply

