Pizza Rustica {TWD-BWJ}

This is my second forray into Tuesdays with Dorie, and I’m happy to report that I liked this recipe a lot better than the Irish soda bread I made a few weeks ago. This recipe is from Nick Malgieri, and it reminded me of a savory version of his Neapolitan Easter pie.

I should say up front that I’m sure there’s some historical reason for the name, but it really isn’t anything like a pizza. It’s more of a savory cheese pie, akin to a quiche, but not as custardy.

The crust is simple to whip up in the food processor. The surprise here is that, although this is a savory pie, the crust is quite sweet. I found my dough a bit on the dry side, so I wet my hands and kneaded a bit of water into the dough before rolling it out. It worked beautifully.

The filling also came together quickly. It consisted of ricotta cheese, eggs, Pecorino Romano cheese, sweet Lebanon bologna (my substitution for prosciutto), mozzarella cheese, and spices. I began by stirring the ricotta to soften, then mixed in the remaining ingredients one at a time. I spooned the filling into the crust and smoothed the top.

I rolled out the remaining dough and cut it into strips with a  ruffle-edge pastry wheel, then made a criss-cross lattice pattern on top of the pie.

I baked the pie for about 40 minutes at 350°F, until the crust was golden brown and the filling set. The recipe says to cool the pie completely before eating. I let mine cool for about 20 minutes, but we were hungry and decided to eat it while it was still warm.

It seemed like it needed something light and refreshing to go with it. I wanted to make a frisee salad, but I didn’t have any greens in the fridge. I’m not sure what made me think of it, but I decided to toss together a quick carrot salad to eat with the pie. It turned out to be the perfect accompaniment.

The pie was rich, sweet, savory, and salty all at the same time. I’m not sure how it would be with prosciutto, but the sweetness of the crust paired beautifully with the salty-sweet of the Lebanon bologna. And the carrot salad provided just the right coolness and acid to balance out the dish. We all agreed that this is a dish we would gladly eat again.

This post is part of Tuesdays with Dorie. Check out the group website to see what everyone else thought of this dish. Our hosts for this recipe were Emily and Raelynn. Surf on over to their blogs for the pizza rustica recipe.

Next up: Lemon Loaf Cake. You’ll have to check back in a few weeks to see what I thought of it, but here’s a preview:

Dinner and dessert

 

26 Comments

  1. April 17, 2012 at 7:55 am

    […] is the second April recipe for Tuesdays with Dorie. Unlike the pizza rustica, which involved mixing and rolling crust, making filling, and shaping a lattice topping, the lemon […]

  2. Kayte said,

    April 9, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    Looks wonderful. I made that NM egg/salami/meat/crust thing that I can’t remember the name of at the moment and decided to skip this one when it came up as it seemed similar and I just wasn’t in the mood, I guess. Maybe another time…yours looks dlightful on that plate.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 9, 2012 at 9:40 pm

      That’s the only recipe in MB that I’ve skipped so far. Lol

  3. April 7, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Looks great! I really liked the sweet crust, definitely more tasty than what I had excepted.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 8, 2012 at 7:00 pm

      I agree. The more I ate it, the more I appreciated the contrast of the sweet crust and savory filling.

  4. April 4, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it…fun to see the lemon cake too…I haven’t made it yet 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      April 8, 2012 at 6:59 pm

      I made it early. Now, whether I get it blogged on time is another story.

  5. April 4, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    It was a big hit over here too! Now I need to check out that sweet Easter pie link! 🙂

  6. April 4, 2012 at 8:43 am

    Looks wonderful – Love the carrot salad!

  7. April 4, 2012 at 7:33 am

    Mmm, I love Lebanon bologna. Amazingly enough, Central Market carries it, but I haven’t bought any in a while. I think I need to do something about that this weekend. I’m glad you liked this better than the soda bread. =)

    • gaaarp said,

      April 4, 2012 at 9:09 pm

      We get it quite often. It’s great fried.

  8. betsy said,

    April 4, 2012 at 7:09 am

    Hi there, I’ve missed you on French Fridays. I thought this was more like quiche too, certainly not pizza, but delicious just the same. Carrot salad sounds like a good match. I love the look of those carrot ribbons. And what a pretty pie.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 4, 2012 at 9:07 pm

      Thanks. That was how my mom always made her carrot salad. As I was shredding them with the peeler, I started wondering if I should have used the food pro!

  9. Kathy said,

    April 4, 2012 at 7:03 am

    Your pIzza rustica looks perfectly delicious! Carrot salad sounds like a wonderful side with this!

    • gaaarp said,

      April 4, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      Thanks. Who knew a last minute improvised side dish could be so inspired?

  10. A.C. said,

    April 3, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Looks great! 🙂 I will have to try this closer to the recipe next time. It really does look delicious. I ended up making mine more of a pizza pie by adding sauce and pepperoni to appease my kids. I think the crust was divine either way.

    Love the idea of a carrot salad as well. Will have to keep that suggestion in mind. I drew a blank on what to make with it.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 4, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      Some people thought the crust was too sweet, but I really liked it.

  11. Janice said,

    April 3, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Lebanon bologna sounds great. Also, the lemon loaf looks so good–I can’t wait to make it!

  12. Melanie said,

    April 3, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Wonderful looking pie! We had romaine salad with ours, but I like the carrot salad idea. I had fun with this one, changing the filling ingredients quite a bit. I’m not a huge fan of prosciutto, plus I don’t like the price tag. I love bologna, but I don’t know that I’ve had the Lebanon kind before. We thought this was really good, although I think we were both slightly disappointed that it wasn’t more ‘pizza’ like.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 3, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      Lebanon bologna is an eastern PA thing, although we can get it here in Ohio. It’s sweet and smokey; kind of like a cross between summer sausage and salami.

  13. Abby said,

    April 3, 2012 at 8:45 am

    We really enjoyed this one, too. I’m glad that hearing you guys talk about it prepared me for the fact that it was more like quiche than pizza…thankfully, we love quiche! 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      April 3, 2012 at 7:28 pm

      It’s kind of hard to describe, isn’t it? You almost need to experience it to know what it is.

  14. Cher said,

    April 3, 2012 at 8:07 am

    I like the thought of the carrot salad with this.
    Nice pie 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      April 3, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      Thanks! We really enjoyed this one. And the leftovers were great for lunch.


Leave a Reply

