Lemon Loaf Cake {TWD-BWJ}

This is the second April recipe for Tuesdays with Dorie. Unlike the pizza rustica, which involved mixing and rolling crust, making filling, and shaping a lattice topping, the lemon loaf cake was a quick batter that went from bowl to oven in about 5 minutes. In fact, the most complicated part of the whole thing was denuding the lemons.

The cake baked up beautifully and smelled fresh and lemony when it came out of the oven.

I served the lemon cake for dessert after a dinner of the pizza rustica. Both were big hits with my family.

Our hosts for this week were Truc of Treats and Michelle of The Beauty of Life. Visit their blogs for the recipe. And check out the TWD main page to see what everyone else thought of this recipe.

20 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    May 3, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    Loved, loved, loved this cake…but then you probably guessed that, right? Yours looks really beautiful, inside and out. Can’t argue with that amount of success!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 4, 2012 at 9:47 am

      IT had lemon in it, and you liked it? I’m shocked!!

  2. April 30, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    Wow! Two recipes in one day! Great job!

  3. April 18, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Your loaf looks really great! Wonderful idea to serve BOTH TWD recipes the same day!

    • gaaarp said,

      April 21, 2012 at 10:30 am

      Thanks! It was nice to have a great, easy dessert to serve with the Pizza Rustica.

  4. April 18, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    Beautifully done! Nice to have an easy and yummy dish this week 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      April 19, 2012 at 11:44 am

      Until recently I didn’t realize that they pick one easy recipe and one more complex one each month. You know which one I’ll be doing!

  5. smarkies said,

    April 18, 2012 at 4:31 am

    denuding – hilarious! 🙂
    It was a nice simple recipe though I too would have liked a little more lemony-ness to it. I used my denuded lemons to make lemon curd (also from the book).

    • gaaarp said,

      April 18, 2012 at 7:47 am

      I love lemon curd! I haven’t tried the recipe from BWJ, but I do have some lemons left from when I made the cake,…

  6. April 17, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    So smart to just make them both on the same day and have dinner and dessert.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 18, 2012 at 7:45 am

      It worked best for my schedule. And besides, that was I was guaranteed to get them both done!

  7. friedaluvsbread said,

    April 17, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    De-nuding the lemons?!? LOL! You crack me up ~ and your lemon loaf is truly drool-worthy….

    • gaaarp said,

      April 17, 2012 at 6:24 pm

      Thanks. I saved my naked lemons and used them to roast chicken.

      • Abby said,

        April 17, 2012 at 7:23 pm

        So smart! I always wonder what to do with the denuded (lol) lemons!

  8. Abby said,

    April 17, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Love the top of yours…gorgeous! We liked it, too: so quick and easy!

    • gaaarp said,

      April 17, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      Thanks! This is definitely one to make again and often.

  9. April 17, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Looks good, Phyl! I should make this again and actually make a loaf shape this time. =)

    • gaaarp said,

      April 17, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      I’m intruged. I’ll have to heaf over to your blog to see what you made.

  10. Cher said,

    April 17, 2012 at 8:02 am

    This was simple, wasn’t it? Although, I really wanted it to have a little bit more of a lemon presence…
    Nice loaf!

    • gaaarp said,

      April 17, 2012 at 6:22 pm

      I agree. I’m going to add a little lemon oil the next time I make this


Leave a Reply

