Half Hour Hamburger Buns {Recipe}

I don’t know about you, but Mondays and Fridays tend to be quick dinner nights around here. For whatever reason, at either end of the work week, I want something simple and fast to throw together. One of my almost instant dinners that my family really likes is Sloppy Joes.

So last night (Thursday), I got a pound of ground beef out of the freezer to make Sloppy Joes for dinner tonight. There weren’t any hamburger buns in the freezer, and the ones on top of the fridge were of questionable vintage. Rather than stop on the way home to pick up buns, I decided to try a recipe a number of my baking friends had been chatting about — Taste of Home’s 40-minute Hamburger Buns.

You might wonder (1) how you could possibly have homemade bread of any kind in about half an hour, and (2) whether it could possibly be any good. Let me tell you….

Bread derives its flavors in two basic ways. First, from time — the rising and fermenting processes allow the yeast in the dough to convert the starch in flour to sugar, thereby adding flavor. The other way to get flavorful bread is through the ingredients used to make it. For example, eggs, sugar, and oil are often added to bread to make an enriched dough that relies more on these ingredients than the fermentation process for its resulting flavor.

In the case of these burger buns, the flavor comes almost entirely from the ingredients, as the dough is not given a chance to rise. This recipe also relies on another principle of bread baking: if you add enough yeast to the dough, you can make bread that rises “instantly”.

I’ll admit to being a bit skeptical of these buns, as I tend to rely heavily on time to develop flavor in my breads. I can make amazing bread using nothing but flour, yeast, salt, and water (and in the case of sourdough bread, just flour, salt, and water). But I needed hamburger buns for dinner, and it seemed like a good time to see what all the fuss was about.

I was surprised at how good these burger buns tasted. I would still opt for a more traditional recipe when time permits. But for an almost instant bread, these were great. And they fit right into my quick Friday dinner plans. These were so good, I made them again as hot dog buns.

I made some changes to the recipe, and I found they were done in closer to half an hour than 40 minutes. Here’s my version.

Half Hour Hamburger Buns

Ingredients

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons instant yeast
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.
  2. Pour water into bowl of electric mixer. Add yeast and sugar, stir to dissolve, and allow to rest for 5 minutes.
  3. Add remaining ingredients and mix with dough hook on medium-low speed for 3 to 5 minutes, adding flour as necessary so that dough clears sides and bottom of bowl.
  4. Divide dough into 12 equal pieces and shape each piece into a ball. Place dough balls 1 to 3 inches apart on prepared baking sheet and flatten slightly. (Placing dough balls closer together will cause them to bake together, creating pull-apart hamburger buns similar to those you get from the store.) Cover and let rest for 10 minutes. If desired, brush rolls with water and sprinkle with sesame seeds. Or for softer buns, brush with a little milk.
  5. Bake rolls for 8-10 minutes, until well-risen and browned. Cool on pan for a few minutes.

Makes 12 hamburger buns.

18 Comments

  1. July 23, 2016 at 6:29 pm

    Made these this evening to make sure burgers with the in-laws were extremely tasty – thanks for the quick and great recipe!

    http://www.recipeinabottle.com

  2. March 27, 2016 at 6:35 pm

    I made it into a loaf of bread and made turkey melts. It was out of this world!

  3. D said,

    March 5, 2016 at 5:56 pm

    Can you use regular salt.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 20, 2016 at 8:52 am

      Yes, but Kosher and regular (i.e., table) salt measure differently. I would cut the salt back to about 3/4 tsp.

  4. June 27, 2014 at 10:29 pm

    […] I first used it, I made garlic and herb slider buns based off a recipe from Of Cabbages & King Cakes bun recipe.  I chose this because the buns could be ready in 30 minutes and I wasn’t in the […]

  5. June 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    […] yesterday’s success with half hour hamburger buns, I decided to try the recipe again, this time as hot dog buns. It’s the same basic recipe. I […]

  6. Hanaa said,

    June 16, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Ok, you got my attention. I definitely have to try these. I too conform to the easy Friday dinners (last night = sandwiches with Nick Malgieri’s raisin bread, veg soup, and salad). I will let you know how these turn out when I make them. Were they soft inside?

    • gaaarp said,

      June 16, 2012 at 11:52 am

      Yes, they were nice and soft with just the perfect amount of chew. I’ve found that replacing store bought bread with homemade only works with my kids if it isn’t too chewy. They loved these!

  7. Kayte said,

    June 16, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Aren’t these great? I am making them all the time now as not only do they taste great, they satisfy the urge in me to bake bread often. I do mine completely by hand as I love to knead. Yours look wonderful and I’m happy you liked them since I raved about them & I would have felt a little bad had they not been to your liking!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 16, 2012 at 11:49 am

      Thanks for turning me on to this recipe! I’ll probably knead it by hand next time, but I was multitasking last night when I made these. One thing I’m wondering is if they keep, or if they need to be used right away? I’m going to make hot dog buns with this recipe today.

      • Kayte said,

        June 16, 2012 at 2:38 pm

        Phyl, the keep fairly well. I keep them in a Baggie on the counter and they stay nice for 3 days for sure, Mark takes them as sandwich buns for lunches at work, beyond that they are gone here. I would think they would be good on the latter days beyond as use for a bun for juicy meats that soak into the bread where you don’t want too soft of a bun or it falls apart, like pulled meat or your sloppy joes. That’s my take on it anyway.

        • gaaarp said,

          June 16, 2012 at 2:53 pm

          I had one with butter for breakfast this morning. It was still quite good. I made hot dog buns for lunch today.

  8. idabaker said,

    June 16, 2012 at 6:45 am

    LOL………..This must be the week for hamburger buns. These look great. I also made a few, for the first time, and they came out great. Mine had two risings, but maybe next time, I’ll do just one and see how they come out.

    People often complain that making bread takes too much time, but for me, just letting the dough rise and then going about my day, is no big deal. However, it does require some advance planning.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 16, 2012 at 11:46 am

      I, too, prefer long, slow rises to develop flavor. But for a quick, easy, no fuss bread, this was pretty good.

  9. the Jilb said,

    June 15, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    This looks like a handy recipe to have on-hand. It seems like I always needs buns, but don’t have the time to wait to make them homemade, until now! Thanks for sharing!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 15, 2012 at 11:11 pm

      You’re welcome! Let me know how they turn out for you if you make them.

  10. Abby said,

    June 15, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Wow, I’ll have to try these after hearing both you and Kayte raving about how good they are (for how quick they are). My quickest bun recipe takes about 2 to 2 1/2 hours, so we’ve been in that same fix: need buns and need them now. Bookmarking!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 15, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      They were certainly a pleasant surprise. I’ll be interested to hear what you think when you make them.


Leave a Reply

