Fresh Strawberry Frozen Yogurt {Recipe}

Sometimes the simple things in life are the best. Like a simple, delicious strawberry frozen yogurt.

Or a simple post with a simple recipe for strawberry frozen yogurt.

This recipe was inspired by David Lebovitz and adapted by me.

Fresh Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

Ingredients

  • 1 pint peak of the season strawberries, stems removed and rinsed
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Kirsch
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (whole fat, if you can find it; can also use Greek yogurt)
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Directions

  1. Cut the strawberries into 1/2-inch slices and place in a bowl with sugar and Kirsch. Stir to mix well, then set aside to macerate for 1 to 2 hours.
  2. Put strawberries and their liquid, yogurt, sour cream, and lemon juice in bowl of food processor. Process until mixture is smooth. Press mixture through fine mesh sieve to remove seeds.
  3. Refrigerate mixture for 1 hour, then process in ice cream maker per manufacturer’s instructions.
  4. Enjoy immediately, or freeze to desired consistency.

Makes about 1 quart.

My family loved this frozen yogurt. In fact, my wife pronounced it “too good”, meaning it won’t last long around here. It was sweet, slightly tart (my 8-year-old picked up on the lemon juice), and tasted like fresh strawberries.

Everyone was surprised when I told them it had sour cream in it. I added it because the only yogurt I had was low-fat, but I ended up liking the smoothness and tang it lent to the frozen yogurt. From now on, it will be a regular addition to my homemade frozen yogurt.

This post is part of Strawberry Week here at Of Cabbages and King Cakes. Check out my other posts to find out what else I did with fresh strawberries while they were in season this year.

5 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    July 6, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Very pretty. Love DL’s Perfect Scoop book and I have actually made quite a few of the recipes, including all strawberry ones he has ever posted or included…lol. That goes for the lemon as well. I make small batches as the guys do not like ice cream/froyo for some odd reason. Odd. Beautiful photo of your frozen yogurt.

  2. Abby said,

    June 21, 2012 at 10:31 am

    DL’s strawberry frozen yogurt is a favorite around here. I’ll have to try it with sour cream next time…I imagine it’s a great addition!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 21, 2012 at 5:42 pm

      I bought some Greek yogurt to make some frozen yogurt. Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  3. Rebecca said,

    June 21, 2012 at 9:43 am

    What a terrific color! The sour cream addition sounds interesting. The strawberry ice cream I made last weekend had buttermilk, which also lends a nice flavor.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 21, 2012 at 5:41 pm

      I recently made banana ice cream with buttermilk. It was so good!


Leave a Reply

