Viennese Raisin(less) Coffee Cake {ModBak}

The fourth recipe in the Cakes section of the Modern Baker Challenge is Gehrueter Gugelhupf mit Rasinen (beaten coffee cake with raisins), or, more simply put, Viennese raisin coffee cake. Although I don’t have a traditional gugelhupf pan, my Wilton pan is just fancy enough to work for this recipe.

It’s fitting that this recipe comes right after the pound cakes in the book, as it is quite similar to a pound cake in ingredients, mixing method, and flavor. After beating butter and sugar until light and fluffy, I added lemon zest, vanilla, and egg yolks. Then I alternated adding a mixture of flour and baking soda with more egg yolks, mixing each into the batter. Finally, I folded in egg whites. (I omitted the raisins.)

The cake baked up beautifully. The lemon flavor was reminiscent of both the Perfect Pound Cake and Lemon Ginger Pound Cake, as was the somewhat dense texture of the cake. I wonder if the raisins might have made it seem more coffee cake-like. I’ll have to try adding them next time to find out.

If you want to see this cake made in a true gugelhupf pan, along with some stunning pictures of Vienna, check out Sara’s post. And if you want to make this and more amazing baked goods in your own kitchen, pick up a copy of The Modern Baker. I guarantee you won’t regret it.

4 Comments

  1. nancyo said,

    July 15, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    It’s always nice to have an excuse to bring out the fancy baking pans! It sounds good – I’ve come to love raisins in baked goods.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      I love raisins, too, but the girls aren’t crazy about them, so I sometimes leave them out.

  2. Kayte said,

    July 6, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    That is a beautiful pan and makes a stunning cake. Looking forward to this one…might just need to make a full recipe so I can use my pan. Very nice.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 16, 2012 at 4:22 pm

      Thanks. Definitely worthy of a full recipe.


Leave a Reply

