Hazelnut Biscotti {TWD-BWJ}

The first July recipe for Tuesdays with Dorie — Baking with Julia is one of my favorites: biscotti. I’ve made, and eaten, a lot of biscotti. There’s just something about dunking a crunchy biscuit into a steaming cup of coffee.

I used to think biscotti must be difficult to make, but they are actually quite simple. You mix up a quick dough, press it into a log shape on a pan, bake it, slice it, and bake again to crisp them up.

Since I discovered how simple they are to make, I’ve made many different biscotti, including several original biscotti recipes. So, I was really happy about this month’s first recipe — Hazelnut Biscotti.

I decided to make the biscotti on a lazy Sunday afternoon, and I didn’t feel like running to the store. I didn’t have any hazelnuts, so I decided to use a snack mix from Trader Joe’s with macadamia nuts, almonds, dried cranberries, and candied ginger.

The first thing I noticed about this recipe was how wet the dough was. Biscotti dough is usually the consistency of biscuit or cookie dough — soft, but mailable, and easy to shape. The recipe said the dough would be stiff and sticky, but it was downright gloppy. I had a heck of a time shaping the dough into logs on the baking tray.

I knew it would bake up OK, but it was really an unpleasant dough to work with.

It wasn’t pretty after the first bake, but I knew it would slice up fine. I let the logs cool, then sliced them into individual biscotti.

I put the slices on a cooling rack, which I put in the oven to crisp up the biscotti. I liked the idea of baking the biscotti on a rack so the heat can circulate evenly around them to crisp them up.

The best part about these biscotti was the Trader Joe’s snack mix. The nuts, cranberries, and candied ginger gave the biscotti the only discernible flavor. Otherwise, they were quite bland.

Between the unworkably wet dough and the lack of flavor in the finished biscotti, this recipe is definetly not one that I will make again.

Our hosts this week are Jodi of Homemade and Wholesome and Katrina of Baking and Boys.

20 Comments

  1. Cathleen said,

    July 11, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    Your add-ins sound great! Not a keeper here either.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 15, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Thanks. At least my mom liked them.

  2. Kayte said,

    July 6, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Those look very nice for something you didn’t think went together all that well. Love the choice of the TJ’s mix…very inspired.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 15, 2012 at 11:40 am

      Thanks. I felt like you — using up what was in my cupboard rather than buying more.

  3. Ckay said,

    July 5, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    I agree, the dough was pretty sticky. I was so glad I saw Julia’s video and how she worked with it to form the logs. It really helped.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 5, 2012 at 10:49 pm

      That might have helped. Unfortunately, I didn’t see it.

  4. Katrina said,

    July 5, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    Ooh, the ginger added to the biscotti sounds good!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 5, 2012 at 10:48 pm

      The ginger was definitely the best part!

  5. July 5, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    My dough was really sticky too!! I couldn’t shape the logs with my hands just had to plop it on the paper with my spatula…in the end they turned out ok…but I had my doubts. Yours look like they turned out great!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 5, 2012 at 10:48 pm

      Thanks. I read where someone wet their hands to work the dough, and that looked like it worked out OK.

  6. July 3, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    Like the idea of putting different ingredients…why not…will make these shortly…

    ~Carmen
    http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com

    • gaaarp said,

      July 3, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      I’ve made hazelnut biscotti before, so I thought I’d try something different.

  7. Melissa said,

    July 3, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    Gotta love Trader Joe’s! Candied ginger sounds delicious.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 3, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      The snack mix had been up in the cupboard for quite a while, as we found the candied ginger too strong for eating out of hand. But I really like it in baked goods. I made triple gingersnaps a while back with dry, grated, and candied ginger. They were so good!

  8. Dawn said,

    July 3, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    Funny how your dough was so wet and goopy—mine was actually quite dry!

    Your biscotti look great, despite their lack of flavor. 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      July 3, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      Thanks. They were worth a try, even if they didn’t work out so well.

  9. Cher said,

    July 3, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    I thought these cookies had the most flavor the first day and then they seemed to have less flavor after that – maybe it’s just me? I liked them well enough, but was surprised by the change in flavor.
    Sorry these weren’t a hit for you.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 3, 2012 at 8:47 pm

      I think I had really high expectations of them, as I’ve made some great biscotti. These just didn’t measure up.

  10. July 3, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Cranberries and ginger, good combination! They look great

    • gaaarp said,

      July 3, 2012 at 8:47 pm

      Thanks, The candied ginger was the best part.


Leave a Reply

