Blackberry Jam Cake {ModBak}

This week’s Modern Baker Challenge recipe is Blackberry Jam Cake, a cake that was popular in the 19th century but which is relatively unknown today. I’m not sure when or why this cake fell out of favor, but I applaud Nick Malgieri for bringing it back to the modern kitchen. This is a delicious and simple cake that, as Nick says, deserves to be better known again.

To make the batter, I began by creaming butter and sugar, then adding eggs. Next, I mixed flour, cocoa, allspice, cinnamon, and baking soda in a bowl. I then added the flour mixture and buttermilk to the butter mixture, alternating between the wet and dry ingredients. Finally, I stirred in blackberry jam, raisins, and walnuts.

I scraped the mixture into a Bundt pan that had been buttered, sprinkled with bread crumbs, and sprayed with cooking spray.

I baked the cake for about an hour, until it was firm, well risen, and baked through.

We ate this cake plain, and it really didn’t need any accompaniment. If you wanted to dress it up, a few sugared blackberries would be really nice.

This cake was delicious — the blackberry jam infused the cake with a sweet, rich flavor without being overpowering. And the cocoa added depth and color to the cake. The spices lent a warmth to the cake that made it seem like it would be perfect for late fall or winter, although we enjoyed it in the heat of summer, too.

This is a wonderful cake that I will be sure to make again when the heat of this crazy summer breaks and the leaves start to turn. In fact, it might just make an appearance at Thanksgiving this year.

This recipe and post are part of the Cakes section of the Modern Baker Challenge. Margaret was the official blogger for this recipe. Check out her blog to see how she liked it.

6 Comments

  1. Abby said,

    July 23, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    This looks like just the cake to break in my new 6 cup bundt pan…blackberries are hubby’s favorite!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 24, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      You – and he – will love it!!

  2. Sara said,

    July 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    I really liked this cake as well. I accidentally used black raspberries I think, but no matter. I am planning on posting soon with a recipe for marmalade cake–baking with jams is actually quite nice!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 23, 2012 at 8:41 pm

      I agree. The flavor from the jam was really nice. I might have to try some other flavors, too. Strawberry would be great.

  3. Kayte said,

    July 23, 2012 at 10:35 am

    That looks beautiful. I love blackberries so much, I am looking forward to this one. Might have to ditch that cocoa in it but we shall see.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 23, 2012 at 5:47 pm

      You won’t even taste the cocoa in the final cake. It gives a little color and some depth to the cake. That said, Nick notes that the original versions of the recipe didn’t contain cocoa.


Leave a Reply

