Popovers {TWD-BWJ}

Oh, beautiful, delicious, airy, fluffy popovers! Where have you been all my life?!?

Not only had I never made a popover, until this recipe came up for Tuesdays with Dorie, I had never even tried one before. I can’t believe I have lived for 40-some years and never had the joy of tearing into one of these beauties before dinner this evening! I can promise you, it won’t be 40 more years before I make them again. It probably won’t be 4 days.

I must have been planning on making these at some point, because I have a popover pan. I think I got it with points from my bank the same time I got Baking with Julia. So it’s only fitting that I used the pan for the first time with Marion Cunningham’s recipe from BWJ.

I preheated the oven to 400°F, as that’s what several recipes I saw using popover pans called for. Based on some of the comments on the P&Q for this recipe, I buttered the pans really well with melted butter. (As a side note, my Chicago Metallic popover pans are nonstick, and I’ve found their nonstick pans to work really well with a minimum of greasing.) I filled the cups about 1/3 full and baked them for exactly 35 minutes.

They looked absolutely perfect when they came out of the oven. Dinner was on the table, so the popovers went right from the pans to a basket and onto the table.

I tore into one and was surprised and delighted by how open and airy the center was. They weren’t doughy or custardy in the middle, just a little less done than the crispy exteriors. I slathered the insides with butter and drizzled on some honey. They were absolutely delicious! Soft and crisp at the same time. Puffy, buttery, dripping with honey. I could have made a meal of them.

I’m glad I tried this recipe. And I’m glad to have a popover pan, wherever it came from. I only wish I had two pans so I could make a dozen of these at a time.

Our hosts this week are Paula of Vintage Kitchen Notes and Amy of Bake with Amy. Cruise on over to their blogs for the recipe and to see what they thought of these yummy popovers.

18 Comments

  1. Cindy Harris said,

    August 23, 2012 at 12:00 am

    I’m ready to head to Amazon and order a popover pan! These were so fun. I can’t wait to make these for my granddaughter this weekend. I’ll call them Monster Muffins!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 23, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      I almost ordered a 12-cup popover pan today, but I held off. I really want another 6-cup pan.

  2. August 22, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    What you said…ditto for me…’where have these been all MY life’…I made them…and the following day, made them again. It’s that good.

    Great shots.

    Carmen
    http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/twd-baking-with-julia-popovers/

    • gaaarp said,

      August 22, 2012 at 10:41 pm

      Thanks. I’m seriously thinking about that second popover pan….

  3. Karen K said,

    August 22, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    I’d never had them before either until making this. I’m enjoying the frozen ones every day for breakfast too.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 22, 2012 at 10:35 pm

      I wondered how they would freeze. I took a leftover popover for lunch the day after I made them. It tasted fine, but it was soft instead of crisp.

  4. Teresa said,

    August 21, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Your popovers sound delicious and your pan looks beautiful – totally worth using points for. We sort of did make a meal of them…ahem…

    • gaaarp said,

      August 22, 2012 at 9:28 pm

      We had a full meal with them, but I mainly ate the popovers.

  5. Katrina said,

    August 21, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    Loved how perfectly simple and delicious these were. Yours look great!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 21, 2012 at 10:33 pm

      Thanks. They were really good! I can’t wait to make them again.

  6. August 21, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Such gorgeous popovers! So glad you enjoyed them so much! Love the pan.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 21, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      Thanks! I’m thinkng of getting another pan so I can make a dozen popovers at a time!

  7. Kayte said,

    August 21, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    They look wonderful…that pan is magic, isn’t it? So many possibilities for these. I like that each one looks different, like a little work of art in itself. Fun to see them all. Nice photos!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 21, 2012 at 9:53 pm

      Thanks. I need to make a few more batches of regular popovers, then I can start experimenting. Someone mentioned gouda popovers on the TWD site. Those sound delicious.

  8. Cher said,

    August 21, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    It’s very funny that you had a popover pan and never have had a popover, They look like they came out wonderfully.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 21, 2012 at 9:52 pm

      If you knew me, you wouldn’t find that at all strange!

  9. Abby said,

    August 21, 2012 at 8:56 am

    They look perfect! Can you believe that I’d spent most of my life without having had one, either? Where have we been?? These were delicious, though!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 21, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      I blame it on my mom, as she never made them. She said her mom used to make them. It must skip a generation.


Leave a Reply

