Cocoa Génoise {ModBak}

The next cake in the line up for the Modern Baker Challenge is cocoa génoise. Flush with my recent success with a classic génoise, I was looking forward to making the cocoa variation.

First, a correction. The original hardback edition of The Modern Baker contains an erratum in the instructions. The book says to use 1 cup all-purpose flour for the cocoa génoise; it should read 1/3 cup all-purpose flour. This erratum was corrected in the paperback version of the book.

The cocoa génoise recipe is based on the classic génoise recipe, the only difference being the amounts of flour and cornstarch and, of course, the addition of cocoa. Otherwise, the ingredients and instructions are the same.

Check out my classic génoise post for step-by-step photos and details about the process. Here’s a picture of the cocoa génoise batter in the pan:

And here it is after it was baked:

It didn’t bake up quite as high as the classic génoise. I had to work a little harder to get the cocoa and flour mixed it, and I think I deflated the egg foam a bit. Nevertheless, it was light, airy, and delicious.

And I was still able to cut it into three layers. You’ll have to check back in a few days to see what I used them for….

5 Comments

  1. September 26, 2012 at 8:14 am

    […] A few weeks ago, I wrote about making this wonderful light and airy Cocoa Génoise. […]

  2. Kayte said,

    September 7, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Looks like a perfect cake to me…nice to have the corrections right here at hand, I wrote them in my book, thanks.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 8, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      Funny thing is, Nick told my about those corrections when we first started ModBak (actually before it even started), I’ve posted them in several places on the MB site, and I’ve emailed them countless times to various people; but I just wrote them in my book when I made this recipe!

  3. Abby said,

    September 4, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    So perfect! So much better when you use the right amount of flour 😉

    • gaaarp said,

      September 4, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Have you had the nerve to try this one again yet?


Leave a Reply

