Backyard Mint Ice Cream {Ice Cream Sunday}

For my second Ice Cream Sunday post, I decided to make Backyard Mint Ice Cream. This recipe is Jeni’s basic recipe with “a large handful” of hand-torn mint added just before the base is chilled.

If you aren’t familiar with the base recipe, check out my Sweet Corn & Black Raspberry Ice Cream post and leave out the corn and blackberry sauce. You can also find the Backyard Mint recipe here.

Phyl’s notes:

  • The recipe says to add the torn mint to the ice cream base, chill for 4 to 12 hours, then strain out the mint. Several of the Jeni ice cream bases I’ve made have been quite thick, almost the consistency of set pudding, and I was afraid I might have trouble getting the base through the strainer. To avoid this issue, I tied the mint in a double layer of cheesecloth, as I figured this would impart the mint flavor without having to strain it. What I didn’t count on was how much of the base the cheesecloth would absorb. I ended up with about a pint of ice cream, rather than the quart it should have made.
  • I skipped the ice bath, as the base had to chill with the mint in it anyway.
  • This ice cream would be great with mini chocolate chips or small chocolate pieces added at the end of churning.

We really enjoyed this ice cream, and all wished we had more. Luckily, this is a really easy recipe to make. And I have plenty of mint in the backyard.

7 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    February 9, 2013 at 11:03 pm

    I’ve made this a few times for my husband–mint chocolate chip is his favorite, and it’s even better for him because I don’t like mint ice cream much. I do have to say though, that even as someone who doesn’t care for it, this is the best I’ve ever tasted. I’ve also made the sweet corn one as well without the corn. I am way behind in my blog reading (and writing) so I didn’t realize you were doing this ice cream “series”–I really love her book too. I’m curious to see what else you make–hopefully no need to make her influenza cure soon. I can’t even think about making ice cream anytime soon though, not with all the snow here.

  2. Margaret said,

    September 26, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Or you could just leave the mint leaves IN!! Think how pretty they would be in the ice cream!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 26, 2012 at 6:15 pm

      I saw a picture of this recipe where there were some flecks of mint. But if you left them all in, it would be A LOT.

  3. Melanie said,

    September 24, 2012 at 8:31 am

    This one sounds really good. I think I’d try just bruising the leaves, not tearing, and then just fish out the leaves w/ tongs instead of straining.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 24, 2012 at 5:47 pm

      That might work. I wonder if you would release as much of the oils by bruising?

  4. Abby said,

    September 23, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Yum! I agree: her bases are so thick, I can never strain them. I’ve made mint choc chip, but only with pepp extract, never with fresh mint. Cheesecloth was a good idea….wonder what else we could try….hm.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 23, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      A tea ball? It would have to be pretty big, though, as it’s a lot of mint.


Leave a Reply

