Endive, Apples, and Grapes {FFwD}

Do you remember when you made Spiced Squash, Fennel, and Pear Soup for French Fridays with Dorie? You can be forgiven if you don’t; it was almost a year ago. It was also the last FFwD recipe that I made before I dropped out of sight.

Well, I”M BAAAAAAACK!!!!

I was going to restart French Fridays in October. In fact, I read through the recipes and have already started buying the ingredients. But when I saw this week’s pick, I decided to jump in a week ahead of schedule.

I love sautéed apples, but I had never had grapes or endive cooked in butter before. OK, truth be told, I don’t think I’ve ever had endive at all. But slow cooked with fruit and butter — how bad could it be?

This was a really simple recipe. Other than the fruit, butter, and endive, it contained only rosemary, salt, and pepper, all of which I tucked into a cast iron skillet over low heat.

After 20 minutes, I turned everything over to cook some more.

Another 20 minutes, and it was done.

I put everything on a plate, scraped up the buttery bits in the bottom of the pan, and poured that over the top.

I sprinkled on a little salt and pepper, and tucked into this delightful little dish. The apples and grapes were amazing. (If you’ve never had a grape cooked in butter, you don’t know what you’re missing.)

As far as the endive goes, I enjoyed it with bites of fruit, but it was too bitter to eat just by itself. I think if I were to make this dish again, I’d try to come up with something to use in place of the endive. Having a savory component to the dish is a great idea. But I wish I could think of something less bitter and with a bit more flavor on its own.

In any case, it’s good to be back doing French Fridays again. I’m not going to try to make every recipe — that’s how I got burned out last time. And some of my posts may be short and sweet, been-there-made-that kind of affairs. But at least I’ll be making recipes from Around My French Table again.

And after all that’s the whole point, isn’t it?

34 Comments

  1. October 5, 2012 at 7:58 am

    […] Fridays with Dorie is making something completely new and unfamiliar to me, like last week’s Endive, Apples, and Grapes. It’s fun exploring new flavors, trying new ingredients, and learning new […]

  2. Alice said,

    October 4, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Totally thrilled to have you back again! I was wondering where you had been! I just had another baby almost three months ago now and so I have been doing lots of catch-up posts and skipping posts since our little one’s schedule doesnt always allow me to get the posts written (or cooked) in time to post! 😉 Can’t wait to see your postings for FFWD again! Great job with the endives btw! Let me know if you figure out a good substitute since endive didnt jive for me too much either! 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 5, 2012 at 8:13 am

      Thanks, Alice. It’s good to be back. Congratulations on the little one!

      I’m thinking fennel as a substitute. I’ll let you know how it works out.

      • Alice said,

        October 5, 2012 at 8:19 am

        Hmm… interesting sub! 🙂 Do let us know! and thanks!

  3. Teresa said,

    October 3, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    So glad you’re back! And fitting that you’ve (re)started with a recipe that uses an unusual combination of ingredients. I’m looking forward to trying Dorie’s bonne idée squash version of this recipe – I bet it would be a winner for you.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 3, 2012 at 11:53 pm

      I’m excited to try that one, too. We have a squash, sausage, and apples recipe that we really like, so it will be fun to see how this one compares.

  4. October 3, 2012 at 6:57 am

    Your dish looks great! (and I’ve never had endive before either!)

  5. Piebird said,

    October 2, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    i’ve even had a dessert that included cooked grapes (peeled!) and rosemary, pine nuts I think. I can’t remember if it was served with creme anglaise or ice cream (but vanilla ice cream would turn into creme anglaise with the warm grapes!) how does artichoke in place of endive sound to you? I used cardoon, which tastes like artichoke and everyone seemed to like it.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 2, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      I’ll do a lot of crazy things in the kitchen, but the day you catch me peeling grapes is the day I’ve finally lost it!

      Artichockes might be good. I’m thinking of trying the squash version next, then maybe subbing fennel for the endive.

  6. Maria said,

    September 29, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    Not a big fan of endive here but I did love the apples and the grapes! I’m going to try this recipes with other vegetables and see what happens…in any case the apples/grapes are a winner!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 29, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      I haven’t looked at the squash version yet, but I did pick up a beautiful acorn squash at the store today.

  7. betsy said,

    September 28, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    Welcome back! The grapes were certainly the best part, thought this was a beautiful dish. Try Dorie’s bonne idee for an alternative to the endive. I haven’t tried it yet, but it does sound good.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 29, 2012 at 9:07 am

      I’m definitely trying the squash one — soon! We love squash around here. I make squash, sausage, and apples a lot. Maybe I’ll try adding grapes next time.

  8. September 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Welcome back! You sure picked a good one! I skipped the soup but its on my return list for sure! Yes, the grapes were a highlight here!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 29, 2012 at 9:06 am

      I’m making soup for a get-together tomorrow and I’m torn between the squash one or the spur-of-the-moment vegetable soup.

  9. Amy Andrews said,

    September 28, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    Grapes and butter — weeeee! Welcome back; good to “meet” you. 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      September 29, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      Thanks! It’s nice to be getting back into the swing of things,

  10. Rebecca said,

    September 28, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    I love the sound of this recipe. I adore roasted vegetables and fruits, but have never tried cooking grapes this way. It’s got to be amazing.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      Fortunately, I bought a BIG bag of grapes to make this recipe, so I have plenty left to cook.

  11. Conor Bofin said,

    September 28, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    I had a salad with largely these ingredients in a restaurant in the south of France a couple of years ago. It was beautiful.
    Best,
    Conor

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2012 at 6:42 pm

      It was certainly a stunningly beautiful dish.

  12. September 28, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Welcome back:) Your dish looks delicious. The grapes were my favorite part of the dish. I hope you have a nice weekend:)

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2012 at 6:49 pm

      Thanks! I kept going back and forth between the grapes and apples. I’m not sure which I liked best.

  13. Kayte said,

    September 28, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Looks wonderful…while I did love the endive with it (I thought the sugars caramelized from the roasting took out the bitterness in mine), I am thinking I might try this with butternut squash, that sounds good to me. And don’t even start on those grapes…definitely addicting, aren’t they? All roasted and juicy and popping open…oh, my were those good. Those are going on rotation here for fall and winter. I’m trying to get back into the swing of things around here at FFwD as well.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2012 at 2:39 pm

      Maybe I didn’t caramelize mine enough? I’m definitely game to try the squash version. Maybe we should make a Twittercook even out of it.

  14. September 28, 2012 at 10:15 am

    Welcome back! I’m going to check out that squash soup. It sounds yummy! Your dish looks great. Next time, you might want to try the squash version. It’s pretty good and not bitter at all:)

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2012 at 2:37 pm

      I’m definitey going to try the squash version next time.

  15. September 28, 2012 at 9:57 am

    Endives are not the most endearing veggie.. esp. cooked, but I thought they worked OK with the sweet apple and grape, but something else??/

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      I don’t know. Is there another vegetable in the lettuce family that would cook up nicely, keep its shape, and not be bitter?

  16. September 28, 2012 at 9:44 am

    Welcome back. I think that this was a great recipe to come back to.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      Very French, that’s for sure!

  17. Cher said,

    September 28, 2012 at 8:14 am

    Welcome back. I barely remember the squash soup!
    I didn’t mind the endive, but it wasn’t the star of the show for me.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 28, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      I’m still racking my brain for something to use instead.


Leave a Reply

