Devil’s Food Cake with Fluffy White Icing {ModBak}

This week’s Modern Baker Challenge recipe is the Devil’s Food Cake from the cover of the book. And I suspect that, like my friend Renee, a lot of people bought the book largely for the promise of this cake.

First things first, there is an erratum in this recipe in the original hardback version of the book. The fluffy white icing requires 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar, rather than the 1 cup called for in the recipe. This error was corrected in the paperback version of the book.

This cake derives its characteristic moist, chocolatey crumb from a combination of dark brown sugar and unsweetened chocolate. And it’s a good cake. Really good. But for me, what sets this cake apart is the frosting.

Nick calls this “fluffy white icing”, and I was expecting it to be like a white buttercream. But with the combination of egg whites, sugar, and corn syrup, all of which are heated then whipped, it was more like marshmallow. Marshmallow creme, to be exact. And who doesn’t love that?

This was a great cake, one I’m sure I’ll make again. Definitely worth the price of the book. And I think that, like Renee, anyone who bought the book for this cake won’t be disappointed.

3 Comments

  1. Renee said,

    November 8, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Agreed!!! Fabulous cake!

  2. Rebecca said,

    October 1, 2012 at 8:26 am

    Count me as among those who bought the book for that cover picture 🙂 I made the cake this summer, though, and I was underwhelmed. I wonder if I did something wrong. It seemed dry and not particularly chocolately. I was surprised. I made the icing separately for another cake and I agree that it’s good. Will definitely use it again. Maybe I need to try the cake again…

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      My cake wasn’t overly chocolatey, either. And mine was dry, too, but that was because I overbaked it. (Never go to the basement to work on laundry while you have a cake in the oven.)


Leave a Reply

