Citrus Beet Ice Cream {Recipe} {Ice Cream Week}

It’s Ice Cream Week here at Of Cabbages and King Cakes! Five days devoted to everyone’s favorite summer treat. Today’s theme is “Fruits of the Summer”, which I have loosely interpreted to include one of my favorite farmer’s market finds: red beets.

This is a really easy recipe to put together. Roasting the beets is the most time-consuming part, and it’s mostly hands off. After trimming and cleaning the beets, you wrap them in foil and roast them until tender.

The most striking thing about this recipe is the color: it’s this amazing, not-at-all-natural-looking fuchsia.

And as for the ice cream itself…

It was surprisingly good, especially with a little chocolate syrup. The beet flavor really came through and, combined with the citrus, made this ice cream both bright and earthy.

Citrus Beet Ice Cream

Ingredients

  • 4 medium red beets
  • 1 medium orange
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Trim stems and roots from beets. Wash beets and pat dry with paper towel. Wrap beets in heavy duty aluminum foil and roast directly on center rack in oven for 1 hour and 20 minutes. Carefully remove foil package from oven. Squeeze beets. They should give a bit but still be somewhat firm. If necessary, return beets to oven and roast until done.
  2. Unwrap beets and allow to cool until cool enough to handle. Rub beets to remove skins, then dice beets and place in food processor.
  3. Zest the orange and add to food processor. Juice orange and add this, along with 1/4 cup additional orange juice, to food processor. Process mixture until smooth.
  4. Add sour cream, sugar, and half-and-half and process until smooth and completely combined.
  5. Press base through a fine mesh sieve into medium bowl. Cover bowl and refrigerate until well chilled, preferably overnight.
  6. Process base in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.
  7. Serve with drizzle of chocolate syrup.

Makes about 1 quart

I know it sounds like an odd combination, but it’s worth making, if only for the color.

Here’s what’s on tap for the rest of the week (links will go live on the scheduled day):

And be sure to check out the other posts for today’s theme:

13 Comments

  1. September 16, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    […] all started when I decided to host Ice Cream Week earlier this Summer. A full week of ice cream recipes — how bad could that be? I had picked […]

  2. August 7, 2012 at 10:02 am

    […] Citrus Beet ice cream Di’s Sweet and Sour sorbet Margaret’s Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake Crumble ice cream […]

  3. Rebecca said,

    August 7, 2012 at 9:03 am

    I love the color of that ice cream! I would definitely try this. Nice recipe!

  4. August 6, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    I’m pretty sure there’s a beet ice cream in Jeni’s book, but I don’t know if I can get anyone here to eat it. Maybe if I just showed them the cool color & didn’t tell them what was in it… =)

    • gaaarp said,

      August 6, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      I saw a Jeni recipe with beets online somewhere. I think it had marscapone in it.

  5. August 6, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    My first word upon seeing this… BEETS? As I kept reading and seeing photos…my last word was….Yeah…

    Carmen

    • gaaarp said,

      August 6, 2012 at 6:36 pm

      Thanks. I guess it’s like rhubarb: if you add enough sugar, you can eat anything!

  6. teaandscones said,

    August 6, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    BEET!!! Ice Cream?? Who wudda thunk!! LOVE the color. And of course Chocolate is good with almost anything.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 6, 2012 at 5:29 pm

      It was GREAT with chocolate!!!

  7. Abby said,

    August 6, 2012 at 9:45 am

    Happy ice cream week!! That color is absolutely gorgeous! I’m trying to wrap my head around the idea of beet-flavored ice cream…nope, can’t imagine it. Going to try to get a post up today!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 6, 2012 at 5:29 pm

      It tasted more beety than I thought it would, but it was still good.

  8. August 6, 2012 at 7:58 am

    This recipe totally intrigues me!! Love the gorgeous color…not sure anyone, but me would enjoy the flavor! Would love to give it a try!!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 6, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      I often make things that I know no one else in the house will eat. I consider that the payoff for being the cook/baker in the house!


Leave a comment