Molasses Almond Praline Ice Cream {Ice Cream Week}

It’s day 4 of Ice Cream Week, and today’s theme is Nuts for Ice Cream. I knew I wanted to make either butter pecan or praline ice cream for today, and when I started looking at recipes I found this one for Blackstrap Praline Ice Cream on my Pinterest board, so I figured it was a good time to try it.

The original recipe is from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams and was published in Saveur magazine and on their website. Jeni has an interesting method for making ice cream in which she boils out some of the water from the milk and cream and uses cornstarch and cream cheese to bind the ingredients and increase the fat content. Several of my friends swear by her recipes, so I was excited to try this one to see how it came out.

I made a few changes to the recipe, based on what was in my cupboard the day I made it. I didn’t have blackstrap molasses, so I used Brer Rabbit Mild Molasses. My ice cream was much lighter in color than the picture on Saveur, but the molasses flavor still really came through. And I used almonds for the praline (a sin, I know) because that’s what I had on hand.

The base had a pudding-like consistency. In fact, after refrigerating it overnight, that’s exactly what it looked like. It churned up beautifully. My wife and I tried it as soon as it was done churning, and it was amazing. Rich, smooth, velvety, and the praline was outstanding, with its nutty, caramel-like flavor.

But what really blew my socks off, and finally made me realize what all the fuss over Jeni’s recipes was about, was when I tried it the next day. After freezing, a lot of homemade ice cream is too solid and looses that creamy consistency.

But this ice cream was as smooth and creamy as any double-churned gourmet ice cream I’ve ever tasted. And the overnight rest in the freezer actually improved the flavor, too.

OK, so I’m sold on Jeni’s ice cream. I won’t go so far as to say I’ll never make any other kind (I still like egg-based custard ice creams), but I will definitely try more of her recipes. And we might just venture to Chagrin Falls to try some at one of her stores.

Margaret forgave me for using almonds in praline. Hopefully, her Greek friends will give her a pass, too, for making Baklava Ice Cream! And no forgiveness is needed for Rebecce, who made Nutella Gelato.

Ice Cream Week caps off tomorrow with an original recipe, Guinness Stout Ice Cream.

14 Comments

  1. August 21, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    That ice cream is calling my name! I love almond praline, no need to apologize for it at all. What an interesting technique to prevent the ice cream from getting hard after the first day. I seem to recall reading something similar in Cook’s Illustrated.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 21, 2012 at 9:48 pm

      If you’ve never tried any of Jeni’s recipes, you should. They published a bunch of them on Saveur.com. We went to her store in Chagrin Falls last weekend, and I came home and immediately ordered her book.

  2. Di said,

    August 12, 2012 at 9:04 am

    This is one of the ones I want to try but haven’t gotten too. I’m glad to hear that it’s yummy. I’ll probably use pecans for the pralines, since that’s what I usually have on hand. The texture is probably the thing that I love most about Jeni’s ice creams.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2012 at 9:43 am

      I’d like to try it again with pecans and blackstrap molasses. But it was great the way it was!

  3. August 9, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    […] the honey over the top before serving. Check out: Rebecca’s Nutella Gelato!! Phyl’s Molasses Praline Ice Cream!! Like this:LikeOne blogger likes this. […]

  4. Abby said,

    August 9, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Yes! You described the texture of her ice creams perfectly! The technique seemed odd to me at first, but I just love the results…I haven’t made an egg-based ice cream in quite a while. This flavor looks awesome! Thanks for thinking of and hosting ice cream week, even though I didn’t get a nutty post finished today. 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      August 10, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      I don’t think I could totally give up on custard based ice creams, but I will definitely be making more using this method.

  5. August 9, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    […] Phyl’s Molasses Almond Praline Ice Cream […]

  6. Rebecca said,

    August 9, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    That looks really delicious, Phyl! And I wholeheartedly agree re: Jeni’s method. I’m sold.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 9, 2012 at 6:28 pm

      Thanks! I made her sweet corn blackberry, too. It’s one of the best ice creams I’ve ever tasted.

      • Rebecca said,

        August 9, 2012 at 8:27 pm

        Oooh! I’ll have to try that. It sounds amazing!

  7. teaandscones said,

    August 9, 2012 at 10:11 am

    This Southern girl will forgive your making pralines with almonds. **sigh** Guess I will have to send you some if/when I get my big bag in!! But the ice cream does look luscious and I will have to try Jen’s method.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 9, 2012 at 6:26 pm

      Weren’t we supposed to Twitterbake pralines at some point?

      • teaandscones said,

        August 9, 2012 at 6:38 pm

        We were, but we all got sidetracked with something. There is still time!


Leave a Reply

