Guinness Stout Ice Cream {Recipe} {Ice Cream Week}

It’s the last day of Ice Cream Week, and what better way to finish than with a deliciously decadent stout ice cream? The malty, slightly bitter flavor of the Guinness pairs well with the sweet, rich custard. This ice cream is especially good with chocolate syrup.

This recipe is based on one from Saveur.com.

Guinness Stout Ice Cream

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 6 large egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half
  • 1 bottle Guinness stout, chilled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • chocolate syrup (optional)

Directions

  1. Whisk sugar, salt, and egg yolks in heavy saucepan until thick and lemon colored.
  2. Stir in cream and half-and-half. Heat mixture over medium-high heat, stirring constantly, until it thickens, about 6-8 minutes.
  3. Pour mixture through a fine-mesh strainer into a bowl. Stir in Guinness and vanilla.
  4. Cover and refrigerate ice cream base for at least 4 hours or overnight, then process in ice cream maker per manufacturer’s instructions. If desired, add chocolate syrup near the end of the churning cycle to create a chocolate swirl.
  5. Freeze for several hours before serving. The alcohol in the stout will keep the ice cream from freezing as solid as other custards.

Makes about 1 quart

It should be no surprise to anyone who knows me that I would make Guinness ice cream. Any more than it shocked me to read that Margaret had figured out how to make Tea and Biscuit Ice Cream. Or that Rebecca found a way to work baklava into ice cream. And Di made Chocolate Cookie Dough Ice Cream. Can you tell she has kids?

I hope you’ve enjoyed Ice Cream Week as much as I have. Let me know if you try any of the recipes and what you think. And I’d love to hear about your favorite ice cream recipes, too!

5 Comments

  1. Di said,

    August 12, 2012 at 9:07 am

    I bet J would love this one. I think I have some Guinness in the pantry, so I could actually make it for him! I do have a flavor to contribute for this last day; I’m just running late in getting it posted. I’ll let you ow once I have it done.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 12, 2012 at 9:44 am

      I think it would make a great milkshake, too, although mine didn’t last that long.

  2. August 11, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    […] Margaret’s Tea and Biscuit Ice Cream Phyl’s Guinness Stout Ice Cream […]

  3. teaandscones said,

    August 10, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    STOUT!! Ice Cream. Strong stuff!! HAHAHAHHA.

  4. August 10, 2012 at 11:28 am

    […] I could make Tea and SCONE Ice Cream? Hhmmm!! I’ll look into that! But meanwhile, check out Phyl’s Stout Ice Cream Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]


Leave a comment