Irish Soda Bread Muffins {ModBak}

One of the things I’ve really enjoyed about the Quick Breads section of The Modern Baker is that the breads really are quick. For example, in the 15 minutes it took to bake the ginger scones, I mixed up the butterscotch scones and had them ready to go into the oven as soon as the ginger scones came out.

So even though I usually save my baking for the weekends, the other night after work I decided to throw together Irish soda bread muffins. I got back from walking the dog at 7:30 was relaxing in my chair by 7:50, having mixed up the muffins and cleaned the kitchen. Yes, kids, when Nick Malgieri says “quick”, he means it!

This simple recipe consists of flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, caraway seeds, unsalted butter, sugar, egg, buttermilk (I substituted buttermilk powder and half-and-half), and currants. After assembling the ingredients, I lined the muffin tin with paper liners and preheated the oven to 350° F.

Next, I mixed the dry ingredients (other than the sugar) in a bowl, then whisked the butter and sugar in a separate bowl. I mixed in the egg, then half the cream, half the flour mxture, then the rest of the cream. I tossed the currants with a little flour, added them to the batter, then folded in the rest of the flour.

I found that an ice cream scoop was the perfect size to fill the muffin tins. I baked the muffins for 30 minutes, then cooled them in the pan.

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, this was another wonderful recipe. The muffins were delicious — slightly sweet and very flavorful. I especially enjoyed them with a little butter and fig preserves.

12 Comments

  1. June 27, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    My husband fell in love with these. Granted, he likes plain baking but he really raved.

    My Sweet and Savory

  2. Julie said,

    May 25, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    I can’t wait to make these! I made an Irish Soda Bread for St. Patty’s Day and we loved it. So many recipes, so little time!!!

  3. Margaret said,

    May 16, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Love quick breads and soda bread, so this sounds perfect.

    The scoop trick is great. It is just the right size for a regular muffin cup. I would be lost without mine.

  4. Kayte said,

    May 16, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    They look really great. Now about that red ginger tea…how do I make that to go with them? Love the inside texture of these, a little surprising, so am eager to make them and see for myself!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 16, 2010 at 8:21 pm

      The red tea is called “Rooibos” (pronounced ROYboss), or sometimes “African Red Tea”. You can buy it in most stores (even in Indiana, I imagine ;-0). The ginger syrup is from The Ginger People. I bought it at Cost Plus World Market. If you follow Petra’s method for making candied ginger, you’ll end up with a bunch of ginger syrup. http://desert-or-dessert.blogspot.com/2010/05/candied-ginger.html

      If you can’t find red tea, let me know: I’ll send you a few tea bags.

  5. ap269 said,

    May 15, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Only 3 more to go for you, no?

    • gaaarp said,

      May 15, 2010 at 5:24 pm

      Actually, I’m down to one. I baked blueberry crumb muffins a few weeks ago and cocoa banana muffins before the Challenge officially started. So sweet rusks are the only recipe left in the quick bread section.

  6. ap269 said,

    May 15, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Glad you like them. I’m a little hesitant about making these. They sound so …. I don’t know… plain… maybe? Like, there is something missing in there like blueberries or chocolate chips or nuts or something…

    • gaaarp said,

      May 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

      Soda bread is not the most flavorful of breads on its own. But a little butter and fig preserves takes care of that.

  7. Heather said,

    May 15, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Those muffins look delicious! I’m excited to try them out.

  8. astheroshe said,

    May 15, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Looks soo yummy !!!

  9. Renee said,

    May 15, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I am so enjoying the quick breads for that same reason! What a great idea about using an ice cream scoop! I’ll have to borrow that one… after I go buy myself an ice cream scoop. These muffins sure look delicious.


Leave a Reply

